Skip to main content

Genealogy: Home

Genealogy resources.

Join Us at Our New Home!

Please join us at our new home, located at the new Main Library at 7711 Goodwood Blvd. We are located on the second floor in the Special Collections Department, sharing the space with Archives and the Baton Rouge Room. We are now open and excited to welcome patrons new and old!

Hours

8am to 10pm   Monday -Thursday

8am to 6pm     Friday - Saturday

2pm to 10pm   Sunday

 

7711 Goodwood Blvd.

Baton Rouge, LA 70806

(225) 231-3751

Featured database

The Advocate Obituary Project indexes obituaries appearing in the State Times or Morning Advocate.  Years covered to date:  1952-59; 1960-69; 1970-79; 1980-91. To use these files: Save the file(s) to the Computer's Desktop and then Open them for optimal viewing.

Juneteenth 150th Anniversary: Announcing The Freedmen's Bureau Project

 

FamilySearch and the Smithsonian Institute present The Freedmen's Bureau Project

To help bring thousands of records to light, the Freedmen’s Bureau Project was created as a set of partnerships between FamilySearch International and the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture, the Afro­-American Historical and Genealogical Society (AAHGS), and the California African American Museum.

Tens of thousands of volunteers are needed to make these records searchable online. No specific time commitment is required, and anyone may participate. Volunteers simply log on, pull up as many scanned documents as they like, and enter the names and dates into the fields provided. Once published, information for millions of African Americans will be accessible, allowing families to build their family trees and connect with their ancestors.

HOW DO WE FIND THEM?

Click here to learn how to get started indexing

Every name brings us closer to completing this project. The progress meter shows what percentage of the records we’ve indexed so far. But there’s still more work to do. See how you can get involved today to help millions discover their roots.

Roots Tech 2015

Check out the Rootstech 2015 website for live streaming lectures on new technology for family history research. Rootstech 2015 will be held February 12-14, 2015 in Salt Lake City, Utah.

 

https://rootstech.org/?lang=eng

 

Contact Us

Theresa Wagner
Contact:
225-231-3751

About this Guide

 

This Guide is to assist the beginning Genealogist. For help, please contact us at (225) 231-3751 or email twagner@ebrpl.com.

About the Collection

The East Baton Rouge Parish Library Genealogy Collection focuses on southern states and includes:

Microfilm: Slave papers, legal records, city directories, plantation records, church records, & passenger records.

Print Resources: Books, newsletters, magazines, local histories, family genealogies, & vertical files.

Electronic Resources: Ancestry.com Library edition, HeritageQuest, Fold3, & Internet resources.

The East Baton Rouge Parish Library Genealogy Collection is close to other holdings such as the Louisiana State Archives, the Family History Center, LSU's Hill Memorial Library and the Archives at the Clerk of Court. Altogether, we provide a vast array of genealogical treasure just waiting to be discovered.