InfoGuides: Genealogy: Links

Louisiana State Archives - Historical Resources

Louisiana Online Vital Records Index
Online index to Louisiana birth records 1819-1916, death records from 1911-1971, and Orleans Parish marriage records from 1870-1966.

Louisiana Clerks Remote Access Authority

Louisiana Clerks Remote Access Authority
This website offers free access to Conveyance and Marriage indexes of various Louisiana Parishes. Check the map for participating parishes and the date ranges of each index.

Whom to Contact for Vital Records in the United States

Centers for Disease Control and prevention

LSU Special Collections - Digital Collections

LSU Special Collections - Digital Collections
Digital collections from LSU's Hill Memorial Library including early Louisiana family letters, photographs, maps, and other content.

LSU Special Collections: Digitizing Louisiana Newspapers Project (DLNP)

LSU Libraries - Digitizing Louisiana Newspapers Project: LSU Libraries is proud to present the Digitizing Louisiana Newspaper Project (DLNP), which offers 128 titles from the state of Louisiana published between 1836 through 1922 — a total of 328,900 pages. Access to the complete list of newspapers via the Title, Parish, Decade, Historically Black, or Multi-Language Titles links on the left. Browse newspapers from Louisiana and other states at Chronicling America.

David Rumsey Map Collection

David Rumsey Map Collection

Louisiana Newspapers: Louisiana Digital Library

Louisiana Newspapers Collection: Louisiana Digital Library

Louisiana Historical Newspapers spanning various years. Organized by parish, then by newspaper collection within the parish. Some collections have numerous editions, some have only a few. Many may be in French.

LA CRT: Louisiana National Register of Historic Places Database

Louisiana Listings on the National Register of Historic Places
The Louisiana Department of Culture, Recreation, and Tourism provides a database of all locations listed on the National Register of Historic Places in Louisiana. Photographs and historical summaries (including biographies of residents or associated persons) of each location can be accessed via this link.

LOUIS: The Louisiana Digital Library

The Louisiana Digital Library
The LOUISiana Digital Library (LDL) is an online library of Louisiana institutions that provides over 144,000 digital materials. Its purpose is to make unique historical treasures from the Louisiana institution's archives, libraries, museums, and other repositories in the state electronically accessible to Louisiana residents and to students, researchers, and the general public in other states and countries. The LOUISiana Digital Library contains photographs, maps, manuscript materials, books, oral histories, and more that document history and culture.

Archdiocese of New Orleans - Slave and Free People of Color Baptismal Records

https://nolacatholic.org/archives-and-records
Indexes and scans of original baptismal records of slaves and free people of color from the archives of St. Louis Cathedral. The records cover 1777-1812 and the original documents were written in Spanish by Spanish priests.

KnowLA: The Encyclopedia of Louisiana

64 Parishes Encyclopedia (Formerly KnowLA)
64 Parishes is sponsored by the Louisiana Endowment for the Humanities. Here you will find short articles on many aspects of Louisiana culture, history and biography.

Freedom on the move

Freedom on the Move
Created to control the movement of enslaved people, runaway ads ultimately preserved the details of individual lives--their personality, appearance, and life story. Taken collectively, these ads constitute a detailed, concise, and rare source of information about the experiences of enslaved people..

Enslaved People of the Southeast

ASERL

Family Search

www.familysearch.org
Subscription-free genealogical records, including special European and U.S. State collections.

Annie Laurie Moody Library: Louisiana DAR

Find-A-Grave

www.findagrave.com
Online cemetery indexes maintained by volunteer members. Photos of grave markers are included in many entries, and some volunteers include basic genealogical information about the interred.

Census Enumeration District Finder

Unified Census ED Finder 1880-1940
This website takes a bit of practice to master, but once you figure out how it works, you will have access to Census Enumeration District maps from both 19th and 20th century Federal Censuses.

US National Archives

www.archives.gov
NARA hosts online indexes for military records, federal penitentiary records, immigration records, immigration/naturalization records, Freedman's Bureau records, Freedman's Bank applications, Native American records, and much more.

Charleston Archive

Charleston Archive
The Charleston Archive is a set of rare collections at the Charleston County Public Library in Charleston, South Carolina. This site lists descriptions of their collections along with online pathfinders to aide you in your research.

Association of Professional Genealogists

Association of Professional Genealogists
APG is an independent organization whose principal purpose is to support professional genealogists in all phases of their work: from the amateur genealogist wishing to turn knowledge and skill into a vocation, to the experienced professional seeking to exchange ideas with colleagues and to upgrade the profession as a whole. The association also seeks to protect the interest of those engaging in the services of the professional.

Access Genealogy

www.accessgenealogy.com
Free online genealogical records for all 50 States. Notable additions include extensive Native American records and helpful genealogical forms available for download.

National Register of Historic Places

National Register of Historic Places
The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.

Rootsweb - An Ancestry.com Community

www.rootsweb.ancestry.com
A free online genealogy community that hosts indexes to millions of original source documents and historic records. Log on and see if someone's talking about your name!

The US Genweb Project

www.usgenweb.org
An online community of U.S. genealogists who share local research to help your own! Family trees, cemetery records, wills and successions, and other records are available free of charge.

Western States Marriage Index at BYU Idaho

Western States Marriages
Most Arizona, Idaho, and Nevada pre-1900 marriages are included in this index. Many counties for those same states have been extracted to include marriages up to the 1930’s and some, much later. A significant number of marriages from selected counties in California, western Colorado, Montana, Oregon, Utah, eastern Washington, and Wyoming are also included. Very early marriages (1700’s) in New Mexico are currently being added.

Library of Congress - Chronicling America

Library of Congress - Chronicling America
Chronicling America is a Website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). NDNP, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC), is a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages.

U.S. Telephone Directory Collection

U.S. Telephone Directory Collection

Missouri Secretary of State: 1766 Census - Spanish Louisiana Territory

A census of the Louisiana Territory (civilians and militiamen) taken in 1766 enumerates:

Names of Heads of Household
Men of Arms
Women
Teenage Boys
Teenage Girls
Male Children
Female Children
Slaves
Assigned Lands
Horses and Mules
Large Livestock
Lesser Livestock
Muskets