This is the "eBooks & More" page of the "eBooks & More" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

eBooks & More   Tags: books, databases, reading  

Find book reviews & recommendations, books to read online, and audiobooks and ebooks to download.
Last Updated: Feb 19, 2012 URL: http://ebrpl.libguides.com/ebooksandmore Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

eBooks & More Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Book Recommendations

Book reviews are a great way to find books that you'll enjoy. They also let you know if others think a book is a worthwhile read. Use these review sources to help you find your next favorite book.

Book Index with Reviews

Provides reviews of books for children and teens.  It's great for parents or teachers who are trying to find books at a certain reading level since it includes the Lexile scores for all books.

Fiction Connection

Fiction Connection helps you find books that you'll like.  You can browse by topic, setting, character, timeframe, genre or location.  Or you can search for favorite authors or titles and find similar books.  You also get plot summaries and reviews.  It's easy and fun!

Novelist & Novelist K-8

The Novelist databases provide reviews, lists of award winners, recommended reads, feature articles and much more. Use Novelist to find great books for children, teens or adults -- Novelist K-8 for childrens and tweens titles.

 

Full Text e-Books & Audiobooks

The Library provides a wealth of electronic texts and audiobooks for you to enjoy. Some are downloadable titles that you can use on portable devices; some you can use directly from your computer.

NEW!!!  Britannica eBooks

Hundreds of non-fiction books to read online. Great for all ages!

NEW!!!  EBSCO eBook Collection

Hundreds of non-fiction books to read online. Great for all ages!  Download capability is coming soon!!  To access this database, click on the link above and scroll down the list to eBook Collection.

NEW!!!  EBSCO Audiobook Collection

Tons of non-fiction audiobooks books are ready for download to your mp3 player or iDevice. You must register with EBSCO (for free), and download and install their Download Manager software. To access this database, click on the link above and scroll down the list to Audiobook Collection.

NEW!!!  Tumble Books for iPad

Our popular Tumble Books children's collection is now compatible with iPad!  Share your love of reading with your kids.

Overdrive - downloadable audio- and e-books

Overdrive provides full text, unabridged downloadable versions of popular fiction and non-fiction titles in audio and e-text formats. These titles can be downloaded to a personal computer and transferred to your PDA, mp3 player or iPod.

Safari Tech Books Online

Safari Tech Books offers the full text of almost 2000 titles on computer technology. It is THE reference for programmers and IT professionals, but it's also great for the casual computer user. In this database you find out how to use Linux, tweak Windows, and format a spreadsheet. You can also find out about the latest applications for e-business or commerce, learn how to use an html editor, and figure out how to "photoshop" your digital pictures.

ABC-Clio eBooks

ABC-Clio provides full text access to the following sets:

  • American Slavery: a Composite Autobiography
  • Daily Life Through History
  • Popular Culture
  • American & World History

Gale Group Databases - LitFinder

LitFinder provides full text access to over 150,000 stories, poems, and plays. It's a reader's paradise.

Free Audiobooks Online

These websites offer free access to the audio versions of classic titles. Need a copy of Tom Sawyer and all our copies are checked out? Use one of these sites to access a version.

 

Ask a Librarian Live

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
 

Was This Helpful?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip