This is the "Encyclopedias & General Information" page of the "General Information Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

General Information Databases   Tags: databases, encyclopedias  

Use these databases when you're not sure where to start.
Last Updated: Apr 4, 2012 URL: http://ebrpl.libguides.com/encyclopedias Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Encyclopedias & General Information Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Information Sources

Don't know exactly where to start looking for information?  Not sure exactly what subject your topic falls into?  Just need some quick facts?  Encyclopedias and general reference sources are just what you're looking for!  Use these sources to begin your research or for quick and easy fact-checking.

Credo Reference(now called Literati)

Credo Reference is a whole reference collection in a single database!  Search for any topic in the ebook collection and you're sure to find complete, comprehensive information.  And you're not limited to text.  Credo has a library of fine art images that are copyright-free and many of the books are illustrated with pictures, graphs, even mathematical formulae!  Credo is a one-stop-shop for information.

EBSCO/EBSCOhost Web

This database aggregator includes general information resources for all ages.

  • Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia
  • Student Research Center
  • MAS Ultra School Edition (high school)
  • Middle Search Plus (middle school)
  • Primary Search (children)

World Book Encyclopedia

World Book is probably the most recognized encyclopedia in the world.  We provide access to the following "versions":

  • World Book Online for Kids
  • World Book Online Info Finder
  • World Book Online Reference Center
  • World Book in Spanish
  • World Book in French

World & I

This online magazine is a great place to find information on people, places, cultures and the arts worldwide.

 

Ask a Librarian Live

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
 

World Book Widget

 

Was This Helpful?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip