This is the "Genealogy Databases Overview" page of the "Genealogy Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Genealogy Databases   Tags: databases, family_history, genealogy  

Find your family history with these exciting genealogy databases.
Last Updated: Jul 8, 2014 URL: http://ebrpl.libguides.com/genealogy_databases Print Guide RSS Updates

Genealogy Databases Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Sources for Genealogy

Family history research is popular  -- and tricky.  Use these databases to begin your exploration or to delve deeper into the history of your ancestors.

NEW!!!!  Searchable online microfilm of the Advocate and Times Picayune historical archives.  (library card is required)

NEW!!!!  Fold3 from Ancestry.com. Over 400 million records including military records, milestone documents, census records, and special interest pages.

Advocate Historical Archive (1925-1985): not yet complete, but work is ongoing.

Times-Picayune Historical Archive  (1837-1988): as complete as it will be.  coverage has holes.

Ancestry.com Library Edition - available in the library only

Historical records, census and voter lists. Click here for more details.

HeritageQuest Online

Useful for census information and African American genealogical research, this database also contains books, articles, Revolutionary War information and information from the records of the US Congress.  Click here for more details.

Newsbank

Search current newspapers from across the nation.  Some start as early as 1986.  Great for recent obituaries.
Baton Rouge Advocate and New Orleans Times Picayune Historical Newspaper Collection
A special collection of the Baton Rouge Advocate (1925-1985) and New Orleans Times Picayune (1837-1988) Historical Newspapers have been added to our Newsbank database. These digital scans are of the newspapers themselves, and contain the original images and advertisements not just the text from the articles. (Note: These are only accessible from inside the library)

Recommended Genealogy Websites

 

Ask a Librarian Live

 

Was This Helpful?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip