Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Advocate Historical Archive
7 July 1925 to 31 Dec 1997.
Issues published within the date range may be missing. Efforts to locate and add any such missing issues are ongoing.
Note: Must access link through the Digital Library (either "By Subject" > "Genealogy" or A-Z List). In-Library use only.
Baton Rouge Room Digital Archive
The Baton Rouge Digital Archive of the East Baton Rouge Parish Library is a series of collections that reflect the content of the Baton Rouge Room Archive. Here you will find materials that reflect historical actions of local governments, businesses, residents and institutions of the City of Baton Rouge and East Baton Rouge Parish. These items include but are not limited to photographs, manuscripts, periodical publications, documents, audio and video recordings and memorabilia. To view all items in all collections, please select "BROWSE ALL" in the upper left hand corner of the page.
Free Access. Set up a free account
Find My Past
No remote access. Available only at the Main Library. Access to English and Irish records as well as newspapers and the PERSI periodicals index
Fire Insurance Maps
Vintage maps for many cities throughout the United States.
History and Military Archives
In addition to census records and books, the database features the PERSI Archive which is an index to over 2 million genealogical and local history articles.
Nationwide in scope.
Search current newspapers from across the nation. Some start as early as 1986. Great for recent obituaries.
Access to Genealogy Databases
Access our genealogy databases by following the steps below:
- Return to the library's homepage (www.ebrpl.com)
- Click "The Digital Library" link near the top of the page
- Click "By Subject"
- Select "Genealogy"
- Or, Click on the site below:
After you click on the database you wish to use, you will be asked to enter your library card number. The following databases are accessible by following these steps: