How Do I Choose the Right Database?: Databases & iDevices

EBSCOhost our ‘go-to’ database for finding journal articles, now has a free iPhone/iPod Touch/Android app! Here are some of the features:

• Choose which databases to search
• Limit results to full text or peer-reviewed
• Sort by relevance or date
• Retrieve full text results in HTML and/or PDF formats
• Save results for offline access at a later date
• Email results to self or others
• View cover flow display of results

To activate the app, first head over to the iTunes App Store or the Android Store and install it, then go to the EBRPL library online databases page. Log in with your library card and choose EBSCO Host. After selecting databases, hit continue and on the next page you will see a link saying ‘EBSCOhost iPhone/iPod Touch Application’. After clicking that link you can enter your email address and you will receive a key to access the app.

Click the link in the email you receive and your app is live. It is definitely worth going through these few set-up steps for the benefits of this great app!

The Library and Your iPad/iPhone

You can use your iPad or iPhone to access our databases; the iPad access is particularly good since the screen is a nice size.  You can even create an icon for your iDevice desktop for quick access!  Here's how to add our database page to your desktop:
 

• Go to the Library’s database page on your browser
• Tap on  the + in the menu bar at the top of the screen
• Tap Add to Home Screen to add an icon to your desktop
• Here you can either keep the icon label, or you can change it to one you’ll recognize
• Tap on the Add button.  An icon will magically appear on your desktop!

You can do this with our home page and our Library catalog too.  Just go to the appropriate URL and follow the instructions above.