Skip to Main Content

Writers' InfoGuide: Local Writing Contests, Awards, and Grants

Library resources for aspiring writers

Indie Author Project 2024

The Indie Author Project's 2024 is open for submissions April1st through May 31st, 2024!

Attention Local Authors! Are you an indie author looking for a chance to showcase your talent? The Indie Author Project Annual Contest is looking to find the best indie-published book in seven genres: Mystery/Thrillers, Romance, SciFi/Fantasy, Historical Fiction, General/Contemporary Fiction, Memoir, and Young Adult. Submit your work before May 31st for your chance to win $2,500 and other amazing prizes! Find out more about how you can participate at Indie Author Project Annual Contest.

Louisiana Writer Award

The Center for the Book's Louisiana Writer Award was established in 2000 to honor exceptional, living Louisiana writers for their published contributions to the literary and intellectual heritage of Louisiana. Winners include novelists Ernest Gaines, Shirley Ann Grau, Elmore Leonard, and James Lee Burke, poet William Jay Smith, historian Carl A. Brasseaux, and Southern scholar and critic, Lewis P. Simpson. Sponsored by Barnes & Noble Booksellers. Contact for more information. 

The Ernest J. Gaines Award for Literary Excellence

The Ernest J. Gaines Award for Literary Excellence, "initiated by donors of the Baton Rouge Area Foundation to honor Mr. Gaines, is designed to inspire and recognize rising African-American writers of excellence as they work to achieve the literary heights for which Ernest J. Gaines is known."