Skip to Main Content

Self-Publish Through the Library: Video Tutorials

SELF-e is a self-publishing option for local authors who wish to gain exposure and add their ebooks to the library.

Banner

Pressbooks Video Tutorials

CLICK HERE for Pressbooks User Guide

VIMEO Tutorial Walkthrough of Creating a Book

Indie Author Project (Self-E) How-to

Biblioboard Overview

The Process

Indie Author Project

The Indie Author Project is a partnership with Library Journal and other libraries to promote independent authors in their communities and nationwide.

Share with the Indie Author Project:

  1. Submit your eBook to the Indie Author Project from your Pressbooks account.
  2. You can also go to the BiblioBoard menu and click “Share Your Book” in the For Authors section.
  3. After a book is vetted, it is made available to participating libraries statewide in the Indie Texas Collection on BiblioBoard Library.

This program allows independent authors to submit their eBooks in electronic format with the possibility of making them available through the East Baton Rouge Public Library. Opportunities to promote your work and gain more exposure are available through this project.

  • Go to the Indie Author Project for submission criteria and form.
  • Once submitted, your eBook will be reviewed by a community of multiple curation partners, including Library Journal. You will be notified within 4-6 weeks if your book is selected to be part of the Indie Author Project. Books in all genres are welcome and may be included in the collection but for now only adult and young adult fiction books are professionally reviewed.
  • When the book is vetted, it is made available to participating libraries statewide in the Indie Texas Collection on BiblioBoard Library. BiblioBoard is the platform used to read and promote the books selected.
  • Library Journal also reviews the books submitted. If your submission is deemed a high-quality indie book it will be included in IAP Select which, in addition to being available locally and at the State level, will appear in the Library Journal IAP select collection available at participating libraries throughout the U.S and Canada.
  • There are no limits to the number of books you can submit for review.
  • Your book should be on PDF or ePUB format file.
  • Submissions should be original work to which you own the rights.
BiblioBoard Library
 

BiblioBoard lets you create eBooks and print-ready books, share eBooks with the Indie Author Project, and read eBooks by Baton Rouge and Louisiana authors.

Create with BiblioBoard's Pressbooks:

  1. Make a BiblioBoard Library profile.
  2. Open the BiblioBoard menu and click "Create your book" in the For Authors section.
  3. You can also go to Pressbooks and sign in with your BiblioBoard Library profile.

Share with the Indie Author Project:

  1. Submit your eBook to the Indie Author Project from your Pressbooks account.
  2. You can also go to the BiblioBoard menu and click “Share Your Book” in the For Authors section.
  3. After a book is vetted, it is made available to participating libraries statewide in the BiblioBoard Library

Read with BiblioBoard Library:

  1. Make a BiblioBoard Library profile.
  2. Open and read eBooks in your browser.
  3. You can also download the BiblioBoard app to your device and sign in with your profile.
  4. When you find a title you want to read, click "Read This."
  5. To download eBooks in the BiblioBoard app, tap "Bookshelf". You can open the eBooks without being connected to the Internet.
  6. To find your downloaded eBooks, open the BiblioBoard menu and tap "Offline Bookshelf".
  7. To delete a downloaded eBook from your device, find it in the Offline Bookshelf, tap "Bookshelf", then "Remove".
  8. eBooks can be downloaded to the BiblioBoard app only, not from the browser.
  9. eBooks are always available with unlimited checkouts.

 

FAQ:

  • What is Pressbooks?
    Pressbooks is an easy-to-use digital self-publishing tool that allows writers to create professional-quality eBook and print-ready files in ePUB, MOBI and PDF formats.
     
  • Who can use Pressbooks?
    Any East Baton Rouge Public Library cardholder.
     
  • What is the Indie Author Project?
    The Indie Author Project (IAP) is a year-round discovery program where indie authors can make their eBooks available through the library. Authors who are looking to promote their work and increase readership and exposure can submit their work to IAP to be featured in the statewide Indie Collection. BiblioBoard and the Indie Author Project team handle all quality control, content vetting and author communication.
     
  • What is Indie Author Project Select?
    Indie Author Project Select (IAP Select) is a collection of indie books curated by Library Journal.
     
  • What is the IAP Select Process?
    After an IAP submission is added to the author’s local Indie Collection, Library Journal then vets all adult and YA fiction submissions for inclusion in IAP Select. Submissions deemed as high-quality indie titles are labeled as IAP Select. In addition to being available locally in the statewide Indie Collection, these titles also appear in the genre-based LJ IAP Select collections, which are available at participating libraries all across the U.S. and Canada.