Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Baton Rouge Civil Rights: Local African American History Resources

Black Heritage Room @ Scotlandville

The Black Heritage Room areas of coverage are biography, philosophy, literature, the arts and history. This collection includes circulating and reference (non-circulating) materials on every phase of the African-American experience. The Black Heritage Room houses histories and personal stories of slavery. We have biographies of Martin Luther King, Jr., President Barack Obama, Medgar Evers, Rosa Parks, W.E.B. Dubois, Arna Bontemps, Colin Powell, and Condoleezza Rice. It also includes works of important authors, such as Maya Angelou, Alice Walker, Langston Hughes, and Toni Morrison.

The Black Heritage Room has information on the African-American influence in medicine, politics, religion, science and technology, the Civil Rights Movement, performing arts, sports, entertainment, and foods. The Black Heritage Room also provides periodicals, CDs, DVDS, videos, and art. We have Reference sources such as The African-American Encyclopedia, Contemporary Black Biography, and, African American Firsts. The Black Heritage Room also displays the Willie Harris Photo Collection and the Clementine Hunter Art collection.

Our African American Legacy

 
 
Leland College 1937 Annual Ministers Institute

Local African American Images