Arts & Culture: New Orleans Museums

Officially designated as the Nation's WWII museum and also known as the D-Day Museum. Check out the Higgins boats!!

945 Magazine St.
New Orleans, LA 70130
(504) 527-6012

The Cabildo was the site of the Louisiana Purchase Transfer ceremonies in 1803 and is our State's most important historical building.

701 Chartres St., Jackson Square
New Orleans, LA 70116
(504) 568-6968, (800) 568-6968

“La Pharmacie Francaise,” located in the French Quarter, is the largest and finest pharmaceutical collection in the United States. Can you say leeches?

514 Chartres St.
New Orleans, LA 70130 [Map It]
(504) 565-8027

Very cool French Quarter complex featuring historic documents, a house museum, and the Louisiana History Gallery. Primarily for researchers, so librarians LOVE it!!

533 Royal St.
New Orleans, LA 70130
(504) 598-7100

This museum tells the history of Italian Americans in the South through photographs, articles, family histories, and memorabilia.

537 S. Peters St.
New Orleans, LA 70130 [Map It]
(504) 522-7294

Features both permanent and rotating exhibits on New Orleans architecture and historic neighborhoods. Check out the replica of Jackson Square circa 1855. Very cool.

923 Tchoupitoulas St.
New Orleans, LA 70130
(504) 581-7032

The little museum that won the war... with the Ogden Museum next door. It houses the largest collection of Confederate memorabilia in the US.

929 Camp St
New Orleans, LA 70130
(504) 523-4522

Fun for the whole family!! Admission is $7 for adults & kids.

420 Julia St.
New Orleans, LA 70130
(504) 586-0725

Presents and preserves the cultural traditions of New Orleans’ African American society, including Mardi Gras Indians, Jazz funerals, and Social Aid & Pleasure Clubs.

AWESOME!!

1116 St. Claude Ave.
New Orleans, LA 70116
(504) 522-48

Experience the fun and fascination of our famous tradition. Mardi Gras: It's Carnival Time in Louisiana captures the essence of this event through rare artifacts, elaborate displays and imaginative technology.

This is THE museum for the presentation & preservation of Mardi Gras Indian culture. Lots of beautiful costumes and history. Don't miss it!!

Located in the Treme District.

Blaine Kern, "Mr. Mardi Gras," is the world's largest and most respected floatbuilder -- his floats have created the distinct look of NOLA's Mardi Gras. Getting an up-close & personal look at these fabulous floats makes this "museum" a treat!

Part of Kenner's Rivertown complex, the Mardi Gras Museum presents a collection of videos and memorabilia highlighting King Cake traditions, balls, parades, and the Cajun "Courir du Mardi Gras". Guests can board a float and take pictures.

The New Orleans African American Museum is dedicated to protecting, preserving, and promoting through education, the history, art, and communities of African Americans in New Orleans and the African diaspora.

The New Orleans Museum of Art has a permanent collection of more than 40,000 objects including sculpture, art of the French Impressionists, art of the Americas, photography, and glass. The Besthoff Sculpture Garden is a highlight.

Founded on the donation of NOLA businessman Roger H. Ogden's collection of Southern art, OMSA is home to the most comprehensive collection of Southern art in the world.

Home to bold experiments in painting, theatre, music, performance art, dance, photography, video, sculpture and more, the CAC hosts rotating exhibits, as well as jazz, dance, and many types of avant-garde performance works.

Collins C. Diboll Art Gallery and Visual Art Center houses Loyola's permanent Cornet exhibit, a collection of artifacts from the Belgian Congo, and is distinguished by the wide range and depth of its exhibitions.

The Newcomb Art Gallery collections are focused on the crafts produced at Newcomb College from the late 19th through the early 20th century with more than 400 examples of pottery, metal work, embroidery and bound books.

The oldest building in the Mississippi River Valley and also the oldest surviving example of the French colonial period in the United States.

1100 Chartres St.
New Orleans, LA 70116 [Map It]
(504) 529-3040

Degas House was the home of the famed French Impressionist master during his time in New Orleans. Also functions as a B&B -- stay there during Jazz Fest.

2306 Esplanade Ave.
New Orleans, LA 70119
(504) 821-5009, (800

Pitot House is the only Creole colonial style house museum in New Orleans. On Bayou St. John.

1440 Moss St.
New Orleans, LA 70119
(504) 482-0312

Visit both historic French Quarter homes for a real slice of life in old New Orleans.

HERMANN-GRIMA HOUSE
820 Saint Louis Street

GALLIER HOUSE
1132 Royal Street

Former home of Gen. PGT Beauregard and author Frances Parkinson Keyes.

1113 Chartres St.
New Orleans, LA 70130
(504) 523-7257

Longue Vue is one of the last true examples of 20th century Country Era Place homes and is one of the few of this kind in the Deep South.

7 Bamboo Rd.
New Orleans, LA 70124
(504) 488-5488