Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Anti-Racism Resources: Home

This is a guide for anti-racism resources.

About This Guide

Welcome to the EBRPL Anti-Racism Infoguide. This guide was created to provide resources on anti-racism. Many people within the Baton Rouge community are asking what can they do to not only condemn racism, but how to be anti-racist. Anti-racism is a notion built on taking action and being actively critical of racism in all forms (individual and institutional). Anti-racism work is direct and can sometimes feel uncomfortable because of this directness. However, racism is an issue that has caused lots of pain, discomfort, and anguish to those who cannot escape the harshly negative effects of it. Hopefully, the desire and willingness to cultivate a better society will give the readers of this guide the courage and motivation to work through any uncomfortable feelings. Please note: This guide is not exhaustive and doesn't include every resource out there, but it can be a good starting point! It will constantly be updated, so feel free to check back as often as you'd like. 

Poll

What types of resources would you like to see more of in regards to Anti-Racism?
Digital Content Recommendations (videos, podcasts, etc.): 1 votes (20%)
Virtual Community Roundtables/Discussions: 1 votes (20%)
Academic Articles (from journals, magazines, etc.): 0 votes (0%)
Information on Local Events: 0 votes (0%)
Information for teens & children: 3 votes (60%)
Total Votes: 5

Free Online Classes & Courses in the Digital Library

All of these databases (in dark blue) are available in the Digital Library. If you click on each database, it'll lead you to the correct site. You will need your East Baton Rouge Parish Library card to access these courses. If you have any questions about accessing these databases, please call 225-231-3750 or your preferred library's Reference Department.

LinkedIn Learning:

How to Engage Meaningfully in Allyship & Anti-Racism

Supporting Allyship and Anti-Racism at Work

Skills for Inclusive Conversations

Udemy:

Unconscious Bias: Fuel Diversity

Ally Up: Using allyship to advance diversity & inclusion

Master Cognitive Biases

Gale E-Books:

Black Lives Matter: From a Moment to a Movement

Embrace Differences

 

What is Anti-Racism?

In order to understand the concept of anti-racism, it's best to learn about what racism is. 

According to the EEOC, Race discrimination involves treating someone unfavorably because they are of a certain race or because of personal characteristics associated with race (such as hair texture, skin color, or certain facial features).

"Racism is prejudice plus power; anyone of any race can have/exhibit racial prejudice, but in North America, white people have the institutional power, therefore Racism is a systematized discrimination or antagonism directed against people of color based on the belief that whiteness is superior. It is insidious, systemic, devastating, and integral to understanding both the history of the United States and the everyday experiences of those of us living in this country." (Source)

Experiences of racism are very nuanced and can occur on a micro level (personal) or a macro level (systemic). When someone uses a racial slur, or makes a simply judgment of someone based on their physical features, this is micro level racism. Macro level racism includes lack of equitable housing, mass incarceration rates, lack of equitable employment, etc. 

In this video, Dr. Ibram X. Kendi discusses what it means to be anti-racist:

(Video Source via Youtube)

Anti-Racism means actively learning and undoing years of harmful teachings and ideas. This includes explicit and implicit biases. Sometimes, it's difficult to recognize how white supremacy is so deeply rooted into our everyday lives. White supremacy has been instilled in all of us to some degree, either directly or indirectly. The National Museum of African American History & Culture notes that "in a society that privileges white people and whiteness, racist ideas are considered normal throughout our media, culture, social systems, and institutions. Historically, racist views justified the unfair treatment and oppression of people of color (including enslavement, segregation, internment, etc.)." (Source)

 

 

"Anti-racism is a long game. Instead of just reading, I want to challenge you to go the distance. I want you to do the real work of becoming anti-racist. I want you to commit to being teachable. To acknowledge that you’re not always right. We all have room to grow, change, and do better. Anti-racism requires risk, vulnerability, and accountability. But it also brings whole new levels of understanding and empathy." - Dr. Nicole Cooke

(Quote Source)

 

Tears We Cannot Stop

The Warmth of Other Suns

So You Want to Talk About Race

Stony the Road

The New Jim Crow

Algorithms of Oppression

Quick Guide of Select Terms

Ally - Someone who makes the commitment and effort to recognize their privilege (based on gender, class, race, sexual identity, etc.) and work in solidarity with oppressed groups in the struggle for justice. Allies understand that it is in their own interest to end all forms of oppression, even those from which they may benefit in concrete ways.

Critical Race Theory - A movement that considers many of the same issues that conventional civil rights and ethnic studies take up, but places them in a broader perspective that includes economics, history, and even feelings and the unconscious.

Diversity includes all the ways in which people differ, and it encompasses all the different characteristics that make one individual or group different from another. A broad definition includes not only race, ethnicity, and gender — the groups that most often come to mind when the term "diversity" is used — but also age, national origin, religion, disability, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, education, marital status, language, and physical appearance.

Equity - The guarantee of fair treatment, access, opportunity, and advancement for all, while at the same time striving to identify and eliminate barriers that have prevented the full participation of some groups. The principle of equity acknowledges that there are historically underserved and underrepresented populations and that fairness regarding these unbalanced conditions is needed to assist equality in the provision of effective opportunities to all groups.

Inclusion - the act of creating involvement, environments and empowerment in which any individual or group can be and feel welcomed, respected, supported, and valued to fully participate. An inclusive and welcoming climate with equal access to opportunities and resources embrace differences and offers respect in words and actions for all people.