Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Interested in volunteering? There are many agencies in Baton Rouge and around the parish looking for people willing to donate their time to help others.
Baton Rouge Medical Center Auxiliary
Volunteer in hospital gift shop, information desk, surgery and intensive care waiting rooms; radiation oncology, medical oncology, emergency room, same day surgery waiting room and patient family services. Flexible times.
Are you looking to give back to your community? BREC needs volunteers to fulfill our mission of providing parks and recreational opportunities for all of the residents of East Baton Rouge Parish.
Capital Area Animal Welfare Society (CAAWS)
Helps abandoned and homeless animals find new, permanent homes. Provides pet therapy visits to nursing homes and other institutions. Provides educational presentations regarding responsible pet ownership and spaying and neutering.
Capital Area CASA
CASA volunteers are trained to give special representation to abused children so they will not fall through the cracks of the juvenile justice and child protection systems.
Capital Area United Way RSVP: Retired and Senior Volunteer Program
RSVP places people fifty-five and over as volunteers in non-profit organizations having the greatest community impact and most in need of volunteer help. RSVP priority areas include Education and Youth Development, Healthy Futures, and Economic Opportunity (through literacy). RSVP provides any training needed and volunteer support.
Capital City Alliance
Capital City Alliance is a community organization dedicated to engaging, promoting, and advocating for the LGBT community in greater Baton Rouge.
Help abused, abandoned, or neglected, cats and kittens find forever homes. Provide socialization, cleaning, feeding and adoptions at our shelter and offsite adoption areas. Become a foster parent. Volunteer by helping to rehabilitate our special need felines by giving those needed medications or socialization from your home. Foster healthy cats and kittens while waiting for space to become available at our shelter. Participate in special events.
Dreams Come True
Volunteers involved in making "dreams come true" for children with life-threatening illnesses. Different committees carry out visiting the child and making financial arrangements.
Foster Grandparent Program
Work as volunteers on a one-on-one basis with exceptional/special needs children, birth to twenty-one. Grandparents serve five hours a day, four days a week and receive a small stipend, meals and transportation. Other volunteer opportunities available.
Greater Baton Rouge Literacy Coalition
Volunteer to tutor. Help in the office. There are lots of opportunities to help out and get involved.
Habitat for Humanity
Volunteers build homes for low-income families who meet income guidelines.
Holiday Helpers of Baton Rouge
Volunteers recruited to provide set-up, service and clean-up for "Thanksgiving Together" dinner. Sponsors two other events for children, "Christmas for Kids" and "Easter for Kids," held at elementary schools.
International Hospitality Foundation
Provides the community an opportunity to encounter people of other nations through monthly intercultural exchanges with international students representing more than 100 countries. Has monthly Host Program (families serve as hosts to these LSU students).
Louisiana Old State Capital
Old State Capitol Docents/Volunteers Needed!!! Docents learn about the colorful people and stories of the Old State Capitol as well as its architecture and place in Louisiana's political history. They engage visitors and inform them about the exhibits and events held there.
Contact Caroline Kennedy: email@example.com or call 225-342-0500
Magnolia Mound Plantation - Volunteer Docent Program
Authentically costumed docents conduct tours of the restored plantation home. Site includes main house, kitchen & crop gardens, pigeonnier, overseer's house and slave cabin.
Our Lady of the Lake Volunteer Program
There are many volunteer opportunities at OLOL. You can choose how and when you would like to volunteer. Opportunities range from front desk receptionist to direct interaction with patients on the units.
Reach to Recovery
Trained volunteer survivors call or visit (home or hospital) patients who have just had a diagnosis of breast cancer.
Resource for finding volunteer opportunities from the federal government.
Whether you have 5 minutes, 5 hours or 5 days, you can find ideas for making a positive impact in your community
Site includes volunteer matching and an interactive map of opportunities.
Searchable by city
Volunteers in Public Schools
Volunteer opportunities include reading tutor, answering the phone, buddy program, gardening, maintenance, special events.
Volunteers of America
VoA offers many opportunities for committed volunteers. Check our Community Information Database for a complete list of programs.
Woman's Hospital Volunteers
Volunteer opportunities include information desk, flower & mail delivery, patient discharge, answering phones, gift shop, gift wrapping, and greeter at outpatient registration. Other opportunities are also available.
If you would like to have your organization's volunteer opportunities listed on this page, please email firstname.lastname@example.org.