Serials: Digital Newspapers

The library subscribes to a news database called Newsbank. This database contains:

• The Advocate 1925-2013
• Daily Advocate 1854-1906
• Daily State 1906-1910
• State-Times 1909-1991
• Weekly Advocate 1845-1903
• Times-Picayune 1837-1988

The text is indexed and contains the actual images!

To access:

• Go to our Digital Library page
• Choose A to Z List
• Click either New Orleans Times Picayune Historical Archive or Advocate Historical Archive
• Click the tab Newspaper Titles

These are full images, ads and all, scanned directly from the paper.

Once inside the archive you can search for your article. There are options to narrow your search including date and specific newspaper. When you find your article, you can either print, save or email it.

Newsbank also contains text only issues (no images) of the following Louisiana newspapers: 

The library subscribes to a news database called  Newsbank. This database contains more recent issues of The Advocate and Times Picayune. It contains:

• The Advocate 1986-Present
• Times Picayune 1989-Present

The text is fully indexed but contains no images.

To access:

• Go to our Digital Library Page
• Choose A to Z List
• Choose Newsbank

Once inside Newsbank select The Advocate or Times Picayune under America's News. There are options to narrow your search including date and specific newspaper. When you find your article, you can either print, save or email it.

 Remember, these are text only, no images.

If you need a picture from these issues, they can be obtained via our physical microfilm located at the Main library.

The New York Times is available 1851 to present.

New York Times 1851 to 2007

• These are microfilm only
• They are located at the the Main Library

New York Times 2008 to Present

• These are digital only
• From our home page choose Digital Library, then choose A to Z List,then choose New York Times Digital Microfilm.

Neither are indexed online, so you must use the New York Times Index located in the library to find specific articles and subjects.