Drug & Alcohol Addiction Rehab, Treatment & Recovery Resources in Louisiana
"Approximately 576,000 Louisianans – 12.35% of the state population – use illegal drugs and another 236,000 – 5.06% of the state population – abuse alcohol in a given year. As a consequence, nearly 10.83% of all deaths in Louisiana between 2008 and 2017 were caused by drugs and alcohol, almost two percentage points above the national average for drug- and alcohol-induced deaths. Among the five most populous cities in Louisiana based on population, Shreveport had the highest rate of drug- and alcohol-related deaths during that time period at 14.24%, while Baton Rouge had the lowest rate at 7.57%.
This guide was created to help the many residents of Louisiana who are struggling with substance abuse addiction to find affordable treatment that will put them on the path to recovery. It is also intended to inform the general public about the dangers of substance abuse in Louisiana.
If you need help finding a rehabilitation center in Louisiana, you can use our directory to locate low-cost, quality treatment right away. Read on to find instructions for using the directory and to learn which rehabilitation centers qualify as the highest-rated, low-cost facilities in the state." -from Help.org
10319 Old Hammond Hwy, Suite C-2
Baton Rouge, LA 70816
225-930-0026 (hotline); 225-930-0027
A.A. telephone number for further information on Alcoholics Anonymous, literature and A A. meetings.
4837 Revere Ave
Baton Rouge, LA 70808
225-924-3900
24-hour crisis counseling and emotional support line serving the Greater Baton Rouge Area. The PHONE is a safe space to talk about all sorts of feelings and problems including, but not limited to, depression, anxiety, loneliness, interpersonal problems, suicidal ideation, and financial issues. Callers to The PHONE are connected to volunteer paraprofessional counselors who are trained in crisis intervention and suicide prevention. These counselors are available to listen and talk with you whenever you need help the most.
4837 Revere Ave
Baton Rouge, LA 70808
985-231-1142
24-hour crisis counseling and emotional support line serving individuals in the St. Tammany Parish. Residents of St. Tammany who are in crisis can call this line to speak to a trained crisis intervention specialist.
153 N 17th St
Baton Rouge, LA 70802
225-388-5800
The mission of the Capital Area Alliance for the Homeless is to provide a continuum of care network for the homeless in the Capital Area (comprised of the civil parishes of Ascension, East Baton Rouge, East Feliciana, Iberville, Pointe Coupee, West Baton Rouge, and West Feliciana) through a coordinated body of diverse organizations and individuals.
4615 Government Street, Building 2 Baton Rouge
Baton Rouge, LA 70806
225-925-1906
Hours: M – F 8:00 a.m – 4:30 pm M – Th 5:00 p.m. – 8:00 p.m. With life’s ups and downs, sometimes help is needed to regain balance. Our mental health professionals work to assist clients in regaining that balance and to begin the process of recovery. We help clients set and achieve their goals. The key services we provide for our Mental Health Outpatient clients include:
Screening for services
Referral to services
Screening for psychiatric hospitalization
Social, psychological and psychiatric evaluations
Medication evaluation and management
Individual, group and family counseling
Co-occurring treatment services
Aftercare program
Treatment for sexual abuse victims
Emergency respite
Mobile Treatment Services
Primary care referral and follow-up*
Tobacco cessation classes
Post-incarceration services
Case management
Referral for Vocational Rehabilitation Services
Outpatient mental health services for the homeless
Information and referral to other providers and to CAHS satellite offices near your area**
2414 Bunker Hill Dr
Baton Rouge, LA 70808
888-236-4567
Our evidence-based programs help our clients through every stage of their recovery journey. This location offers the following programs: Adult and Adolescent Outpatient Services, Short-term and Long-term Residential Treatment, and Inpatient Detox.
Baton Rouge has licensed, professional staff members with a wealth of experience and a passion for aiding clients through recovery. Our employees are dedicated to our clients’ physical and emotional well-being.
Our long-term residential environment is designed to support our clients through all steps of their behavioral modification and recovery process. The amenities include a spacious dining area, TV rooms for relaxation, and sleeping quarters.
The inpatient detox and short-term residential environments are designed to support our clients through all steps of their recovery process. The amenities include a spacious dining area, TV rooms for relaxation, and sleeping quarters.
19202 Highland Rd
Baton Rouge, LA 70809
225-753-2273 x341
New Beginnings is a ministry that helps anyone struggling with life or life’s destructive behaviors. We also offer support for families of anyone struggling with destructive behaviors. No matter your hurts, habits, or hang-ups, there is hope!
MEETINGS
We meet every Friday night in the Arena Kids District. Please enter through Arena Entry 2 (far left of the building). We begin services at 6:30pm. Childcare is provided for 6 weeks-5th grade for the service as well as all small groups.
8318 Jefferson Highway
Baton Rouge, LA 70809
225-927-5624
At Jefferson Oaks Behavioral Health, we believe that all individuals have the capacity to live well. Our focus is to enable individuals to build upon their strengths and create meaningful lives that enhance their ability to thrive in their work, home and community life. Our Programs and Services:
Partial Hospitalization Program for Mental Health
Partial Hospitalization Program for Dual Diagnosis (Substance Abuse and Mental Health)(DDPHP)
Intensive Outpatient Program for Mental Health (MHIOP)
Intensive Outpatient Program for Dual Diagnosis Adults (DDIOP)
Intensive Outpatient Program for Adolescents (ADIOP)
Outpatient Services: Psychotherapy, Assessments/Evaluations, Interventions & Substance Abuse Treatment, Family, Medication, Divorce and Co-Parenting Coordination Services, Corporate and Civil Mediation and Corporate Prevention Trainings
33 Johnston Hall
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
225-578-1494
NORMAL HOURS:
Mon - Thur: 8:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. The Psychological Services Center (PSC) is an on-campus unit of the LSU Department of Psychology that offers testing and outpatient psychotherapy services for adults, adolescents, and children. Located at 33 Johnston Hall, we serve both LSU students and people from the surrounding Baton Rouge community while providing graduate student training and conducting research in clinical and school psychology.
The center is open to anyone in the area, and fees for services are based on a sliding scale (fees are set based on patients’ income and ability to pay).
We are equipped to assess and treat a wide variety of psychological and emotional difficulties, such as depression, anxiety, ADHD and some types of substance abuse. Clients are seen by Clinical and School Psychology graduate students who are directly supervised by LSU Psychology Department faculty.
In addition, we offer a variety of innovative research projects (often allowing those who participate free services or further reduced fees).
1050 Convention Street
Baton Rouge, LA 70802
225-343-3827
Maison des Amis is a nonprofit that operates a state-licensed group home for people with mental illness.
111 & 113 North 22nd St
Baton Rouge LA 70802
225-344-4149
The Alliance House Residential Center (AHRC) is a transitional living facility for individuals with substance abuse and co-occurring disorders . AHRC provides a rich tapestry of support and education services customized for each resident with a goal of sober self-sufficiency.
While in the program, residents have rigorous requirements;
work the 12-step program,
seek an experienced and dedicated sponsor,
attend community substance abuse meetings such as AA or NA,
pass periodic drug screenings,
participate in all in-house education or support meetings,
seek or re-engage in full-time employment,
save 80% of earnings and budget the remaining 20%,
use savings to repay any outstanding court costs or related debts, and
stay in contact with caseworker for 12 months following departure.
All of the programming is available to residents once they leave the program including the peer support meetings. The success of the AHRC program is driven by mandating community support connections and continuing to hold graduates accountable for 12 months after they depart.
544 Colonial Dr
Baton Rouge, LA 70802
225-929-7674
MHA Serves as an information source for the community. Please call with any questions you may have.
11764 Haymarket Street
Baton Rouge, LA 70816
225-334-9063
MMO'S PRIMARY SERVICES INCLUDE:
Inpatient Psychiatric Hospitalization
Inpatient Physical Rehabilitation
Hospital Based Outpatient Services
Management Services
Outpatient Counseling for Adults, Geriatrics and Children
1231 Laurel St
Baton Rouge LA, 70802
225-344-6345
Over the past 40 years, the services of O’Brien House have evolved into a more comprehensive continuum of care that includes treatment, prevention and community development initiatives. Services include the following:
60 Residential Treatment Beds and 10 Inpatient Treatment Beds
Outpatient and Intensive Outpatient Treatment Programs
Adult Substance Education Program (ASEP), a component of District Attorney’s DWI Diversion Program
Parenting Classes
Grief Counseling
Spiritual Support
Recreational Therapy
HIV/STD Testing
Prevention Classes
Educational Services
With these support services, our clients can stabilize their lives, focus on recovery and prepare for a new life after they leave O’Brien House.
9229 Bluebonnet Blvd
Baton Rouge, LA 70810
225-769-7575
psychiatryassociatesofbatonrouge.org
Hours: Monday - Friday, 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
University Counseling Center, Elton C. Harrison Dr.
Baton Rouge, LA 70813
225-771-2480
The University Counseling Center (UCC) provides group and individual counseling, crisis intervention, and referral for psychological and psychiatric evaluations, as well as prevention and consultation services for the entire university community. The professional staff of the center is composed of psychologist, counselors, and high-trained personnel that can assist in life management and decisions. Hours: 8 a.m. - 5 p.m., Monday through Friday
10875 Fontenot Rd.
Denham Springs, LA 70726
225-667-3933
The Journey Home has an all-female staff, which brings the best of contemporary addiction, the Twelve Steps of AA, and non-acute co-occurring treatment with proven approaches that are supported by best practices.
The Journey Home provides long-term residential treatment for females’ ages 18 and older. The Journey Home also provides an open-ended model of treatment to stabilize the non-appropriate behaviors associated with the lifestyle of chemical use, and is designed to fit the needs of each individual resident. The Journey Home provides intensive therapeutic care in all areas of therapy. The program includes but is not limited to family involvement, individual therapy, group therapy, nutritional counseling, and disorders including the following issues:
Chemical Abuse/Dependency Grief and Loss
Anxiety Eating Disorders
Depression Self Harm
Low self-esteem ADD/ADHD
Trauma Post Traumatic Stress Disorder
Mood Disorders/Bipolar Family Conflict
We recognize that recovery from Chemical Dependency creates a special challenge for those clients who suffer from more than one diagnosis.
Chemically Dependent women have special needs, and specific diagnosis which require special treatment methods /components. Our program is individualized to meet the sensitive needs of women facing recovery from addiction.
855 Saint Ferdinand St
Baton Rouge, LA 70802
225-336-0000; 225-928-1400 (UpLIFTD Office)
WCRC serves women with severe and persistent mental illness, who are most often homeless in a safe and secure home-like setting, providing mental health care through a structured program focusing on education, therapy, and vocational development.
9417 Brookline Dr.
Baton Rouge, LA 70809
225-924-0029
For spouses and children affected by the family disease of alcoholism
4837 Revere Ave
Baton Rouge, LA 70808
1-800-CHILDREN
Kidline is an anonymous, toll-free, statewide telephone
service offering crisis intervention, support, parenting information and referrals to community resources within the state of Louisiana. KIDLINE counselors are available 24 hours per day – 7 days per week.
3600 Florida Blvd
Baton Rouge, LA 70806
225-387-7904
Aging adults have unique physical, emotional and social needs. Our goal at BRG is to promote a healthy lifestyle to address all patient needs through education, medication management and psychotherapy. We offer treatment in our hospital for adults age 50 and above who suffer from mental health disorders, dual diagnoses, and/or behavioral issues secondary to other age related conditions. Our team has been recognized for ensuring that adults age 65 and over receive quality care, and our dedicated social workers and staff work with the family and multidisciplinary team to create a safe, healthy, discharge plan for the patient. We accept voluntary and involuntary admissions. Average length of stay, depending on severity of illness, is 7 to 14 days. Referrals
Your clinician can refer you by sending nurses’ notes, including documentation of behavioral concerns, face sheet, history, physical, most recent MAR, and any current diagnostics including lab work by fax to (225) 381-6141. With questions, please call (225) 387-7904.
2455 Wooddale Blvd
Baton Rouge, LA 70805
225-922-3169
The nationally accredited Capital Area Recovery Program (CARP) offers social detoxification services and comprehensive clinical treatment for substance abuse and addiction recovery. We provide care for people with a co-occurring mental health problem. The 40-bed residential addiction recovery program is open to adult males, 18 and older. Clients are admitted only from clinicians, drug courts, hospitals, mental health and substance abuse treatment facilities.
3843 Harding Blvd
Baton Rouge, LA 70807
225-359-9315
Hours: M – F 7:45 am – 4:15 pm With life’s ups and downs, sometimes help is needed to regain balance. Our mental health professionals work to assist clients in regaining that balance and to begin the process of recovery. We help clients set and achieve their goals. The key services we provide for our Mental Health Outpatient clients include:
Screening for services
Referral to services
Screening for psychiatric hospitalization
Social, psychological and psychiatric evaluations
Medication evaluation and management
Individual, group and family counseling
Co-occurring treatment services
Aftercare program
Treatment for sexual abuse victims
Emergency respite
Mobile Treatment Services
Primary care referral and follow-up*
Tobacco cessation classes
Post-incarceration services
Case management
Referral for Vocational Rehabilitation Services
Outpatient mental health services for the homeless
Information and referral to other providers and to CAHS satellite offices near your area**
1695 Beaumont Dr
Baton Rouge, LA 70806
225-927-2032
Alcoholism Treatment Program in Baton Rouge, Mon6:00 AM – 11:30 PMTue6:00 AM – 11:30 PMWed6:00 AM – 11:30 PMThu6:00 AM – 11:30 PMFri6:00 AM – 11:30 PMSat6:00 AM – 11:30 PMSun6:00 AM – 11:30 PM
4336 North Blvd
Baton Rouge, LA 70806
225-343-9505
We provide free healthcare where your kids are - in school.
Health Centers in Schools makes sure kids feel well so they can learn well. As a nonprofit, we provide free health services in collaboration with East Baton Rouge public schools. Our primary care doctors, nurses and counselors are on the spot with immunizations, screenings, mental health services and emergency care children need. Under performing kids get special attention, as so kids with special needs.
In East Baton Rouge Parish public schools, Health Centers in Schools provides on-site medical and mental health services with health centers on 7 school campuses (click here to view a list of the 7 campuses). The HCS health center is like a pediatrician’s office, where medical doctors and nurse practitioners provide more extensive medical care. Social workers at the centers also provide behavior counseling and other mental health services. HCS also manages the traditional school nurse program at schools without health centers.
2121 Wooddale Blvd
Baton Rouge, LA 70806
225-231-2490
Louisiana Health and Rehab Center (LHRC)–Pocahontas House provides quality, comprehensive treatment to functionally homeless substance use disordered men and women who also have a positive diagnosis of HIV/AIDS or other physical conditions or stabilized mental illness in a safe, caring and supportive environment. Services will focus on clients developing and maintaining a healthy and safe drug-free lifestyle, with particular emphasis on the unique safety aspects required because of the comorbidity of substance use disorder and other physical conditions, including HIV/AIDS.
33 Johnston Hall
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
225-578-1494 (appointments)
The Anxiety and Addictive Behaviors Clinic at LSU is one of the specialty clinics housed within the Psychological Services Center on campus. Our clinic is committed to the development and provision of state-of-the-art treatments and assessments for individuals suffering from anxiety-related problems and problems associated with substance use (e.g., alcohol, marijuana).
The clinic is directed by Julia Buckner, Ph.D., a licensed clinical psychologist with over 10 years experience working with individuals suffering from problems related to anxiety and/or substance use.
16 Infirmary Ln
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
225-578-8774
The Mental Health Service is located on the second floor of the Student Health Center.
Mental Health Service (MHS) supports the flagship agenda of the University by aiding students in their personal growth and development and by enhancing their mental and emotional well-being. Even a mild impairment in psychological functioning can result in significant disruption of a student's ability to learn effectively and relate appropriately. A range of services are available through Mental Health Service to meet the unique needs of the LSU student.
627 North Fourth Street, Suite I-322
Baton Rouge, LA 70802
225-342-6678
A STATE AGENCY PROTECTING THE LEGAL RIGHTS OF THE PEOPLE WITH BEHAVIORAL HEALTH DIAGNOSES
The Mental Health Advocacy Service is an independent state agency under the office of the governor of the state of Louisiana established for the purpose of providing legal counsel and representation to both children and adults who have a mental illness or substance-related/addictive disorder and are admitted for treatment pursuant to Louisiana’s mental health law. Legal counsel includes, but is not limited to, voluntary and involuntary admissions, commitment, legal competency, change of status, transfer, and discharge. MHAS also provides qualified legal counsel to children in child abuse and neglect cases in those jurisdictions designated by the Louisiana Supreme Court through its Child Advocacy Program.
MHAS serves as a resource to the community by providing free training and assistance to attorneys, mental health professionals, consumer and family member groups, and other advocates. In addition, MHAS addresses systemic issues that affect the rights of more than one person.
111 & 113 North 22nd St
Baton Rouge, LA 70802
225-267-6977
The Alliance House Residential Center (AHRC) is a transitional living facility for individuals with substance abuse and co-occurring disorders . AHRC provides a rich tapestry of support and education services customized for each resident with a goal of sober self-sufficiency.
While in the program, residents have rigorous requirements;
work the 12-step program,
seek an experienced and dedicated sponsor,
attend community substance abuse meetings such as AA or NA,
pass periodic drug screenings,
participate in all in-house education or support meetings,
seek or re-engage in full-time employment,
save 80% of earnings and budget the remaining 20%,
use savings to repay any outstanding court costs or related debts, and
stay in contact with caseworker for 12 months following departure.
All of the programming is available to residents once they leave the program including the peer support meetings. The success of the AHRC program is driven by mandating community support connections and continuing to hold graduates accountable for 12 months after they depart.
225-273-6061
NAMI Baton Rouge is dedicated to helping families reclaim a future for themselves and for their loved ones affected by mental illness through support, education, advocacy, and legislation. Our hope is to bring understanding to the public and dispel the stigma of mental illness. Standing shoulder to shoulder, we can together change how the world views mental illness.
5131 O’Donovan Drive, Suite 300
Baton Rouge, LA 70808
225-374-0400
ololrmc.com/services/psychiatry/
The Center for Psychiatric Services is a LSU – Our Lady of the Lake Psychiatric Residency Clinic. Our residents are medical doctors in their third and fourth year of psychiatric residency. We offer outpatient behavioral health treatment for a variety of mental illnesses at discounted rates. Treatment is offered in a variety of methods, including:
New patient adult and adolescent visits
Follow-up appointments
Med-check visits
Therapy visits
Group therapy
No physician referral required. Simply call and schedule an appointment with one of our resident physicians.
Office Hours
Monday – Friday. 8:00 a.m. to 5 p.m
673 East Airport Ave
Baton Rouge LA 70806
225-927-7475
The Recovery Center of Baton Rouge provides a highly structured, Intensive Outpatient Program for adult men, women, and their families struggling with Substance Abuse, Dependence, and Co-occurring Disorders.
150 Cora Dr
Baton Rouge, LA 70815
225-387-1611; 877-782-4747
St. Christopher’s Addiction Wellness Center meets you where you are in life. We offer hope and help to those suffering with addictions, alcoholism and mental health issues, seeking recovery.
Our foundation is the 12-Step model, utilizing the latest therapeutic strategies to treat substance use disorders, addictions, and mental health issues (co-occurring disorders) in males eighteen and older. St. Christopher's is dedicated to supporting women suffering with these issues through assessments, outpatient treatment, and referral.
11690 Florida Blvd. St . C
Baton Rouge, La 70815
225-933-9465
SHELTER:
We will provide an emergency shelter facility for individuals in need of immediate shelter. Through outreach activities, we will offer shelter to those who are living in the streets, in vacant buildings, or in abandoned cars.
TRANSITIONAL HOUSING:
We will provide housing to individuals in need o f affordable and clean housing t individuals or families will have proper shelter while learning necessary life skills to become more independent.
LIFE SKILLS CLASSES:
Travail 6:33 will provide life skill classes to help individuals become independent. Classes provided will be based on financial responsibility, job readiness, parenting, basic life skills and home care.
MENTORING:
Travail 633 Inc. will provide individual mentoring based on each person's needs. We have volunteers and staff who have received extensive training to be able to provide compassionate mentoring to help individuals reach
their goals.
3015 Highway 956
Ethel, LA 70730
225-939-3656; 225-683-4144
Woodlake accepts admissions seven days a week. Admission is open to all patients with a primary diagnosis of chemical dependency. Prospective patients or their families are encouraged to contact us for a consultation.
Admissions are accepted seven days a week and are a simple process that can begin by calling us at 225-939-3656 or contacting us by e-mail at rgomez@woodlakecenter.com . We welcome and encourage persons suffering from dependence problems and their families to call us for a discussion regarding their exact condition. We will answer any questions related to the admitting person and/or family member’s needs in the admitting procedure. Our helpful staff of physicians, nurses, social worker, and counselors will work in partnership to establish the most appropriate treatment modality. Insurance and financial arrangements are verified as part of the admission process. Woodlake’s professional treatment team is committed to caring for individuals with addictions. Patients that can benefit from intensive residential treatment are:
Individuals that have been unsuccessful in outpatient programs
Chronic relapse patients
Health-care professionals
Legal Professionals
Dual Diagnosis
11445 Reiger Rd
Baton Rouge, LA 70809
877-959-4906
Monday-Friday: 5:30 – 12:30pm
Saturday: 6:30 – 9:00am
Sunday: Closed
4837 Revere Ave
Baton Rouge, LA 70808
225-924-5781 (LSU1)
24-hour crisis counseling and emotional support line serving the students of Louisiana State University (LSU). This line is a safe space for students to talk about all sorts of feelings and struggles they are experiencing. Callers to the LSU line are connected to volunteer paraprofessional counselors trained in crisis intervention and suicide prevention. These counselors are available to listen and talk with you whenever you need help the most.
3600 Florida Blvd
Baton Rouge, LA 70806
225-387-7652
We provide a person-centered, judgment-free environment using modern psychotherapeutic techniques to treat in treatment of mental illness for adults 18 and above. Our goal is to help people actively participate in achieving their optimal level of well-being. Our staff of dedicated counselors, social workers, certified group therapists, and other team members can assist with not only therapeutic needs but medication management as well. Referrals
Please fax psychiatric evaluation, a list of medications, demographic information, contact information and insurance to (225) 387-7670 or call (225) 387-7652.
1112 S.E Ascension Comp. Ave.
Gonzales, LA 70737
225-621-5770
Hours: M – F 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 pm With life’s ups and downs, sometimes help is needed to regain balance. Our mental health professionals work to assist clients in regaining that balance and to begin the process of recovery. We help clients set and achieve their goals. The key services we provide for our Mental Health Outpatient clients include:
Screening for services
Referral to services
Screening for psychiatric hospitalization
Social, psychological and psychiatric evaluations
Medication evaluation and management
Individual, group and family counseling
Co-occurring treatment services
Aftercare program
Treatment for sexual abuse victims
Emergency respite
Mobile Treatment Services
Primary care referral and follow-up*
Tobacco cessation classes
Post-incarceration services
Case management
Referral for Vocational Rehabilitation Services
Outpatient mental health services for the homeless
Information and referral to other providers and to CAHS satellite offices near your area**
1900 S. Acadian Thruway
Baton Rouge, LA 70808
225-336-8708
You don’t have to face tough times in life alone. Catholic Charities offers professional, low-cost counseling to individuals, couples and families of all faiths.
Licensed clinical social workers offer professional counseling at six locations in the Greater Baton Rouge area
Counseling provided for people of all ages and faiths for personal, marital and family problems
Your goals might include stress reduction, problem resolution, better job performance, healthier relationships, improved communication and others, depending on the needs of you and your family.
Referrals encouraged from Catholic churches and other faith groups for members of their congregations.
Sliding scale fees are based on your income.
Some insurance accepted. (Blue Cross-Blue Shield, Magellan, Medicare and others)
Evening appointments available at some locations.
Bi-lingual counselors located in Baton Rouge, Denham Springs and Donaldsonville.
To get started, call the location most convenient to you from the list below or 225-336-8708.
4727 Revere Ave
Baton Rouge, LA 70808
225-924-0123
The Child and Family Counseling Center was the first agency program. Its mission is to provide clinical services to any child or family in the community at an affordable cost. Funded in part by the United Way, The Child and Family Counseling Center offers services to children including treatment and prevention of temper tantrums, oppositional behavior, school problems, anxiety, depression, as well as guidance in dealing with issues of grief or loss, social skills, and reactions to separation and divorce. Clinic Hours
We are open Monday - Thursday from from 8:30 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.
222 St. Louis Street
Baton Rouge, LA 70802
225-389-3100
OUR MISSION: To foster a movement based on communication, coordination and collaboration that promotes a better and healthier life for all people in the great city of Baton Rouge.
OUR PRIORITIES
OBESITY
Increasing opportunities for physical activity and healthy eating to improve health
HIV/AIDS
Reducing the burden of HIV/AIDS in East Baton Rouge Parish
MENTAL & BEHAVIORAL HEALTH
Improving access to mental health services and resources
EMERGENCY DEPARTMENT UTILIZATION
Reducing the number of preventable emergency department visits
3196 Pleasant Hall
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
225-578-5958
Mission
To foster safe and healthy collegiate communities by reducing problems associated with students’ substance use through collaboration among institutions of higher education and key community and state stakeholders.
LaCASU offers a range of services that are centered around: (1) Research and Evaluation, (2) Professional Development, and (3) Technical Assistance.
124 Johnston Hall
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
225-578-5919
We are committed to providing appropriate auxiliary aids and services to students with disabilities to ensure they receive full participation in all activities, programs and services at the university.
We are dedicated to promoting the self-advocacy of students with disabilities and are committed to working with the LSU administration on the development and revisions and policies and procedures relevant to students with disabilities.
We serve as a source of disability-related information for the university.
Let us know how we can serve you.
544 Colonial Dr
Baton Rouge, LA 70806
225-987-0013
The Alliance House Drop In Center (Alliance House) is the flagship program of the Mental Health Association of Greater Baton Rouge (MHA). Alliance House has been in operation for over forty (40) years and serves adults with a primary diagnosis of mental illness. The program provides opportunities for peer acceptance and understanding. Consumers learn to become active participants in their treatment. Programming includes:
Peer Support Groups
Arts for Wellness
Nutrition Education and the Impact on Wellness
Computer classes
Weekly Community Outings
Exercise Opportunities
Social Interaction through games and other activities
Healthy mid-day meals
The Alliance House Drop-In Center is a free service. To be eligible consumers must be:
At least 18 years of age
Actively receiving treatment for mental illness or have received treatment in the recent past
Be able to adhere to the rules of conduct developed by the DIC members
Free of drugs and alcohol
544 Colonial Dr
Baton Rouge, LA 70802
225-987-0013
Building Recovery of Individual Dreams & Goals through Education and Support (BRIDGES) is a consumer-run peer education and support program for consumers of mental health services. Using the base philosophy of empowerment and self direction, the program enables consumers to learn about themselves, their mental health issues, mental health coping skills and the direction and value of their lives.
The 10-week BRIDGES educational course is designed for learning the facts on mental health. BRIDGES support group meetings offer opportunities for consumers to learn and apply coping skills to their individual challenges. The classes and support groups are taught and facilitated by trained mental health consumers. This program operates statewide and is funded by the Louisiana Office of Behavioral Health.
The BRIDGES program is based on the belief that individuals with mental health issues can recover by accepting the challenges of living with conditions that have affected every aspect of their lives.
Consumers may choose where they want to begin their recovery journey – in an education course or in a support group. The only requirement to participate in BRIDGES is a desire to pursue one’s recovery.
All BRIDGES courses and support groups are free of charge and offered to anyone with a mental health diagnosis.
7777 Hennessy Boulevard, Suite 6000
Baton Rouge, LA 70808
225-765-8648; 225-374-0400 (satellite location)
225.765.LAKE(5253)
https://ololrmc.com/contact-us/lakeline-direct-24-hour-advice-and-help
Your free, 24-hour resource for health information. Sick? Looking for a doctor? Need health advice? Call LakeLine Direct* for free information. When health questions arise, you deserve answers. And there's no faster or more convenient way to get them than through LakeLine Direct. Call any time and we'll help you make the most of our comprehensive medical resources.
7361 Airline Hwy
Baton Rouge, LA 70805
225-355-4483
http://salvationarmyalm.org/batonrouge/recovery/
Operation Bootstrap
Operation Bootstrap is The Salvation Army of Baton Rouge’s alcohol and drug rehabilitation program designed to help men of all ages overcome their addictions.
By providing counseling, medical assistance, food, shelter, and most importantly, spiritual guidance, the program successfully helps men rebuild their lives.
Designed in conjunction with The Salvation Army’s Family Thrift Store as a work therapy program, Operation Bootstrap helps men overcome the addiction as well as the major cause of homelessness. Next Step Transitional Housing
The lack of affordable housing and sufficient support structure makes life difficult for individuals moving from rehabilitation back into life on their own.
In the Next Step transitional housing program, men who have completed a rehabilitation program live in transitional housing while working, saving money and rebuilding their lives.
7434 Picardy Avenue, Suites A & B
Baton Rouge, LA 70808
225-963-5551
Facility Hours
8:00am – 5:00pm | Monday – Friday
Phones are answered by local Townsend facilities from 8:00AM– 5:00PM, Monday through Friday. Some Townsend facilities provide both day and evening groups to accommodate our patients.
3949 North Boulevard
Baton Rouge, LA 70806
1-877-291-6807
With nearly a century of experience serving our south Louisiana’s most vulnerable citizens, Volunteers of America Greater Baton Rouge is a recognized community leader in the field of behavioral health. Our evidence-based programs provide innovative and effective solutions for people coping with mental illness. We look at the whole person and address both urgent and ongoing needs, with the goal of helping people achieve their full potential and become as self-reliant as possible. Our professional, credentialed staff is expert, dedicated and caring in providing high-quality, customized supports. We have a high success rate of helping clients achieve self-sufficiency, decreased use of acute care, and reduction of harm. At all times, we collaborate and partner with other organizations to ensure the best outcomes for the people we serve. Program Services: Housing Options, Treatment Programs, Intensive Case Management & Support Coordination