How do I Research the History of My House?
This is the "Home" page of the "Baton Rouge Room" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Baton Rouge Room   Tags: archives, baton_rouge, history, personal_papers  

This page will help patrons learn about and search the Baton Rouge Room collection.
Last Updated: Jun 24, 2014 URL: http://ebrpl.libguides.com/BatonRougeRoom Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Baton Rouge Room Oral Histories

Mrs. Willie Smith was born in the 1920's in rural Tensas Parish, Louisiana. In April of 2011, Mrs. Smith and her daughter Kathy sat down to share her life's story with our archivist. In this interview, Mrs. Smith talks about her experiences at Southern University, working at the Tuskegee Institute and her long career as an educator in Baton Rouge. This podcast is only part of her story. For more of Mrs. Smith's interview or if you would like to share your story, please visit the Baton Rouge Room Archives at the River Center Branch Library.

Interview with Mrs. Willie Smith (Part 1) | April 21, 2011 by BatonRougeDigitalArchives

 

Baton Rouge Room Spotlight

 

The Baton Rouge Room Archive

The mission of the Baton Rouge Room Collection is to collect, manage, preserve, and provide access to, items that represent significant historical actions of local governments, businesses, residents and institutions of the City of Baton Rouge and East Baton Rouge Parish. These items include but are not limited to photographs, manuscripts, documents, periodical publications, audiotapes and memorabilia.

Located on the 2nd Floor of the Main Library located at 7711 Goodwood Blvd.  Baton Rouge, La. The Baton Rouge Room is open 8am to 6pm Monday through Friday.  Our hours of operation will be expanding in the summer of 2014 so please check back for updates.

Please call 225-231-3752 for more information.

 

 The Baton Rouge Room wants to hear your story!

Do you remember when Mayor Jack Webb died in office in 1956?  Do you remember when Exxon exploded in the 1980's? Did you work, play, or live in downtown in the 1940's? The Baton Rouge Room is collecting oral histories from the Baton Rouge community. If you have stories of our town you would like to share, contact Melissa Eastin at 225-231-3752 or email the attached form to  meastin@ebrpl.com.

 

Featured image from the Baton Rouge Digital Archive

549 Third Street Baton Rouge in 1914

 

To see more images from the Baton Rouge Room Collection, please visit:

http://cdm15196.contentdm.oclc.org/index.php

 

 

 

 

The Baton Rouge Room

"History cannot give us a program for the future, but it can give us a fuller understanding of ourselves, and of our common humanity so that we can better face the future." - Robert Penn Warren

 

Baton Rouge Room Policies and Procedures

The Baton Rouge Room is on the 2nd floor of the Main Library located at 7711 Goodwood Blvd. Baton Rouge, La.  Our collection has  historic and modern pictures, maps, papers, oral history tapes and memorabilia representing life in Baton Rouge.


 If you have any questions, please call the archivist at: 225-231-3752

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip