Skip to Main Content

Baton Rouge Room: Home

This page will help patrons learn about and search the Baton Rouge Room collection.

Baton Rouge Digital Archive

 

To visit the Baton Rouge Digital Archive click the icon above.

Baton Rouge Room Catalog

 

Click the icon to search the Baton Rouge Room Catalog for archival collections.

Archives Sites

Judge Freddie Pitcher, Jr. --Wednesday, Feb. 21 at 6:00 pm

Meet Judge Freddie Pitcher, Jr. on Wednesday, February 21st, 2024. Main Library at Goodwood.

Open link to see flyer

Breaking Barriers: A View from the Bench -- a book by Judge Freddie Pitcher, Jr.

In his book, Judge Pitcher describes how he made history in Baton Rouge by becoming the first African American to be elected to judgeships at three different levels of the court system.  He will discuss his personal story of humble beginnings—from the bench outside the local grocery he and his friends frequented as young boys— and how he rose from “the bench to the bar to the bench”—the judicial bench. Judge Pitcher will talk about his informative and inspiring book, which sheds light on the perseverance and determination he had to overcome obstacles. He is now with a nationally known law firm and a professor at Southern University Law Center.

Please join us in welcoming him at the Main Library at Goodwood on Wednesday, February 21st at 6:00 pm. Hosted by the Special Collections Lecture Series.

We Love History!

Illustrated History of Baton Rouge

The Baton Rouge Room Archives

The mission of the Baton Rouge Room Collection is collect, manage, preserve, and provide access to, items that represent significant historical actions of local governments, businesses, residents and institutions of the City of Baton Rouge and East Baton Rouge Parish. These items include but are not limited to photographs, manuscripts, documents, periodical publications, audiotapes and memorabilia.

Located on the 2nd Floor of the Main Library located at 7711 Goodwood Blvd.  Baton Rouge, La. The Baton Rouge Room is open 9am to 8:45 pm Monday through Thursday, 9am to 5:45 pm Friday and Saturday, and 2pm to 8:45 pm Sunday.  (Please note, all archival materials will be recalled 30 minutes before closing). 

 

Please call 225-231-3752 or meastin@ebrpl.com  for more information.

 

Genealogy

The Special Collections Department includes the Baton Rouge Room Archive and the Genealogy Collection.

For more information about the Genealogy Collection please visit the Genealogy Infoguide.

Baton Rouge Room Policies and Procedures

Course Slides