Web archiving
The process of collecting portions of the World Wide Web, preserving the collections in an archival format, and then serving the archives for access and use.
Website
A website is a collection of related web resources, usually as grouped by some common addressing – as when all resources on a single host, or group of related hosts, are considered a 'website'. (Archive-it)
URL (Uniform Resource Locator)
The location of a resource on the web. (Archive-it)
Seed
A URL appearing in a seed list as one of the starting addresses a web crawler uses to capture content. Also called a targeted URL. (Archive-it)
Web crawler
A web crawler is a software agent that traverses the web in an automated manner, making copies of the content it finds as it goes along. Web crawlers are used to create the index against which search engines search, or, in the context of archival crawling, to capture web content intended for longer-term preservation. (Library of Congress)
Harvest
Web sites are collected via software that downloads code, images, documents, and other files essential to completely and faithfully reproduce the web site at the time of capture. At the same time, the web crawlers also collect metadata about the conditions of the harvest process. (IIPC)
Preservation
The intent of web archiving is to preserve the original form of the harvested content without modification. To achieve this goal the tools, standards, policies and best practices need to be in place that will ensure the management of web archives over time. (IIPC)
In 2016, the East Baton Rouge Parish Library partnered with the Internet Archive and their affiliate, Archive-it, to archive web sites and content related to the Alton Sterling shooting, the mass police shooting and the August flood. It's now 2020, and in that time we have archived over 1TB of local websites, streaming videos, social media covering topics that shed light on our diverse community. We continue to create collections and crawl websites but we need your help to find web sites to collect and preserve. This URL nomination form can be used to submit a website for consideration in the EBRPL Web Archive. Simply add the URL to crawl and select the collection you believe it should be housed with. If you don't see an appropriate collection for your URL, select other. We thank you for taking the time to preserve Baton Rouge's history. Feel free to contact Emily Ward (225-231-3752) in Special Collections with questions or suggestions!
Special Collections uses a service called Archive-It from the Internet Archive that helps organizations harvest, build, and preserve collections of digital content. They work with over 400 partner organizations in 48 states and 16 countries. They are located at https://archive-it.org/.
Web Archives created by Public Libraries
Brooklyn Public Library: https://archive-it.org/home/brooklyncollection
Brooklyn Public Library's Brooklyn Collection documents the history of Brooklyn from pre-colonial times to the present. A unique resource for the study of Brooklyn’s social and cultural history, the Brooklyn Collection is a distinct division of Central Library, and is BPL's only collection of archival and rare book material. Founded in 1997 as a small book collection attached to the Library’s History Division, it has become the world’s largest public archive for the study of Brooklyn’s social and cultural history in the 19th and 20th centuries.
Buffalo & Erie County Public Library: https://archive-it.org/home/BECPL
Cleveland Public Library: https://archive-it.org/organizations/939
Government, media, and other sites of interest related to Cleveland.
DC Public Libraries: https://archive-it.org/home/dcpl
Henderson District Public Library: https://archive-it.org/organizations/1329
Kansas City Public Library: https://archive-it.org/home/kclibrary
The Kansas City Public Library system consists of a central library, nine physical branches, a digital branch, and an outreach services program serving a constituency of over 250,000 in Kansas City, Missouri. In addition to providing library services to residents, the Library also serves as a resource for the 1.7 million metropolitan residents of greater Kansas City.
Madison Public Library: https://archive-it.org/organizations/1046
Shreve Memorial Library: https://archive-it.org/home/shrevememoriallibrary
Sonoma County Library: https://archive-it.org/organizations/1346
Links to Other Web Archives:
Internet Archive: https://archive.org/
Internet Archive Global Events: https://archive-it.org/organizations/89
These collections of global events have been created by the Archive-It team in conjunction with curators and subject matter experts from institutions around the world.
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, Margaret Herrick Library: https://archive-it.org/organizations/824
National September 11 Memorial Museum: https://archive-it.org/organizations/196
The National September 11 Memorial Museum is committed to documenting the events, immediate aftermath, and continuing repercussions of the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001 and February 26, 1993. To that end, the Memorial Museum’s Web Archive seeks to identify and preserve web sites that reflect the international scope of this emergent history. These sites will be continually sourced from a wide variety of contributors, and will serve to reflect the full breadth of the post-9/11 world.
Collection: Virginia’s Political Landscape, 2010: https://archive-it.org/collections/1582
This collection preserves the Web sites that document Virginia’s 2010 Congressional elections (primary and general). All 11 members of Virginia’s Congressional Delegation were up for election in 2010. This collection archives a specific type of website, campaign materials, that do not have a long internet lifespan but still holds a great deal of information about what a certain time and region.
University of Texas, San Antonia: https://archive-it.org/organizations/318
Description:
Supporting the University of Texas at San Antonio's ascent to premier research university status, UTSA Libraries Special Collections sustains the university's teaching, research and outreach mission by acquiring, preserving and digitizing primary resources for use by students and scholars at UTSA and from around the world. Starting in 2008, UTSA Libraries Special Collections began harvesting in partnership with Archive-It. Our collecting focus includes university and university-affiliated sites, and sites relevant to Texas and the Southwest (Border Studies, Gender Studies, South Texas and San Antonio History), including food culture and renewable energy.
-Descriptions and sites located on Archive-it.org
