Skip to Main Content

Baton Rouge Room: Home

This page will help patrons learn about and search the Baton Rouge Room collection.

Baton Rouge Digital Archive

 

To visit the Baton Rouge Digital Archive click the icon above.

Baton Rouge Room Catalog

 

Click the icon to search the Baton Rouge Room Catalog for archival collections.

Archives Sites

Special Collections "Meet and Greet" Tour

The Special Collections Department at the Main Library at Goodwood consists of the Genealogy Department and the Baton Rouge Room Archives.

We invite you to our “Meet and Greet” tour to learn more about our collections. We will show you around the Genealogy Department and also tell you about the collections housed in the archives in the Baton Rouge Room.

If you love history like we do, please join us at the Main Library at Goodwood on Tuesday, June 25 at 6:00 pm on the second floor in the Special Collections Department. Spaces are limited, so call 225-231-3751 or register to save your spot!

To register, click HERE.

Illustrated History of Baton Rouge

The Baton Rouge Room Archives

The mission of the Baton Rouge Room Collection is collect, manage, preserve, and provide access to, items that represent significant historical actions of local governments, businesses, residents and institutions of the City of Baton Rouge and East Baton Rouge Parish. These items include but are not limited to photographs, manuscripts, documents, periodical publications, audiotapes and memorabilia.

Located on the 2nd Floor of the Main Library located at 7711 Goodwood Blvd.  Baton Rouge, La. The Baton Rouge Room is open 9am to 8:45 pm Monday through Thursday, 9am to 5:45 pm Friday and Saturday, and 2pm to 8:45 pm Sunday.  (Please note, all archival materials will be recalled 30 minutes before closing). 

 

Please call 225-231-3752 or meastin@ebrpl.com  for more information.

 

Genealogy

The Special Collections Department includes the Baton Rouge Room Archive and the Genealogy Collection.

For more information about the Genealogy Collection please visit the Genealogy Infoguide.

Baton Rouge Room Policies and Procedures

Course Slides