Special Collections Department of the Main Library on Goodwood Boulevard houses a Vertical File collection specific to the City of Baton Rouge and East Baton Rouge Parish in our Baton Rouge Room Archives.
This unique resource is made up of files with topics specific to our City-Parish. In this collection you will find information on buildings such as the Paramount Theater or the Old State Capitol, churches like Mt. Zion or First Presbyterian and musicians like Tabby Thomas or John Fred. Topics also include biographies of civic and social leaders and even artists like Frank Hayden and Emerson Bell. The contents of files are varied and may contain photographs, pamphlets, maps, and even menus from old Baton Rouge Restaurants!
These items do not circulate and must be viewed in the Baton Rouge Room with the assistance of an archivist. You can view the Baton Rouge Room Master Vertical File list by clicking on the Word File to the right. Check back often as we are always adding content to this one of a kind resource. For more information call the Special Collections Department at 225-231-3752.
The Baton Rouge Room Vertical Files are a collection of news articles, printed ephemera, photographs and other paper documents. Vertical Files are collections of folders containing information on various topics. The Baton Rouge Room houses a vertical file collection of information that is unique to Baton Rouge. Here you will find files on individual historic buildings, cemeteries, churches, schools and much much more. Information in these files dates back to the early 20th Century. To view a list of the Baton Rouge Room's vertical files, click on the document below. Please call the archivist if you have any questions 225-231-3752.