Click on the image to listen to the audio interview.
Larry Fremin is one of the founding members of the Mystic Krewe of Apollo of Baton Rouge. The organization produces a Mardi Gras Bal Masque annually. This recording describes the life of the Mystic Krewe of Apollo, the personal life of Larry Fremin, HIV/AIDS and its effects on Krewe members, as well as the preparations of and final production of the Bal Masques.
The Baton Rouge Room Archive of the East Baton Rouge Parish Library is home to a several oral history collections.
The Junior League of Baton Rouge Oral History collection consists of 60 oral histories conducted by League members in the late 1970's and early 1980's. The narrators of this collection were long time citizens, business people and activists working and living in Baton Rouge in the 20th Century. Topics in this collection include social life and customs, schools, historic homes, and civic development.
The "Remembering the Struggle" Collection was assembled by the YWCA of Baton Rouge. Covering the time period from 1957 to 1982, this unique resource preserves the stories and photographs of 26 women who were selected for inclusion in the project because of their notable contributions that led to social change and improvements in human rights in Baton Rouge.
The "Where Were You When" project is an ongoing effort by the staff of the Special Collections Department to preserve the stories that reflect the social, cultural, artistic, political and economic activities of the City of Baton Rouge and East Baton Rouge Parish.
This page provides a few interviews which are available in the Baton Rouge Room and on the Baton Rouge Digital Archive.
Click on the image to listen to the audio interview.
Virgie Tucker was a resident of Baton Rouge. The interview discusses her life from childhood to adulthood in Baton Rouge. Tucker discusses her career as an educator, social life and customs of Baton Rouge, and her affiliation with the Sophie Wright Institute.
Click on the image to listen to the audio interview.
Doris Carnes was a nurse on duty at Our Lady of the Lake Hospital in Baton Rouge, Louisiana the night Senator Huey P. Long was shot and assassinated. The interview describes the scene from the hospital from the time of his arrival and the days following his death.