InfoGuides: One Book One Community 2019: The Hound of the Baskervilles: For Teachers

Participate in Holmes!

Participate in Holmes!
There are many ways in which librarians and teachers can participate in the One Book/One Community program planned for Spring 2019! Download this list and start planning now!

PBS Learning Media
PBS Learning Media provides three excerpts from MASTERPIECE’s 2002 version of The Hound of the Baskervilles, corresponding handouts, and teaching tips. (Ages 9-13+)
SparkNotes: The Hound of the Baskervilles
SparkNotes is a free online resource which provides chapter summaries, character lists, themes, and motifs.
“Don’t Just See, Observe: What Sherlock Holmes Can Teach Us About Mindful Decisions”
This Scientific American article written by Maria Konnikova discusses the reach of Sherlock’s powerful observations and what we can learn from his methods.

PBS NOW Classroom
In this lesson, PBS NOW provides a learning activity and downloadable handout to improve and discuss general reading comprehension.
Purdue Online Writing Lab: Fiction Writing Basics
Purdue University provides free writing resources ranging from citation assistance and guides on the basics of writing fiction.
The Making of a Mystery Lesson Plan
Scholastic provides teachers with a guide for creating a mystery writing lesson plan which includes a “Planning Your Mystery Worksheet” and an “Ingredients for a Mystery Checklist.” (Grades 3-5)

How did Sir Arthur Conan Doyle create a sense of intrigue and mystery with the story of Sir Hugo and the Hound? How else could he have told that story to the reader?
What were the benefits of having Dr. John Watson investigate at Dartmoor without Sherlock Holmes? What are the benefits of having Watson narrate this story?
How does this story explore the clashing of the scientific and the supernatural? Does one win out over the other in the end?
What are the characteristics of the story’s female characters? How do Doyle’s depictions of them compare to his depictions of the male characters?
How is Dr. John Watson a worthy foil of Sherlock Holmes in the story?
Moriarty is known as Sherlock’s greatest nemesis. Is the antagonist of this story, Jack Stapleton, a worthy nemesis to Sherlock Holmes? Why or why not?
Why are stories about crime, especially about murder, so prolific? What do themes do these stories explore which can’t be found in other genres?

VerbalWorkout.com (Vocabulary)
VerbalWorkout.com provides a list of vocabulary words from the book, definitions, and sample sentences within the story.

Encyclopedia Sherlockiana by Matthew E. Bunson
Call Number: 823.09 D754bu
Publication Date: 1997-05-01
British Crime Writing by Barry Forshaw
Call Number: * 823.09 B862f
Publication Date: 2009-03-05
Reference Only

Find creative inspiration on EBRPL's OBOC Pinterest Board!