Skip to Main Content

Baton Rouge Room: Scanning and Media Conversion

This page will help patrons learn about and search the Baton Rouge Room collection.

What Are Obsolete Formats?

Obsolete media is a format of audio, video or computer file that has been superseded by new technology and/or is no longer supported by its creator.  Formats become obsolete for many reasons.  Technology evolves over time, as in the case of home film formats. Early home videos were shot on 16mm magnetic film (introduced in 1923), sometimes with sound sometimes without.  8mm film was introduced in 1935, but it wasn't until the introduction of Super 8 and the development of affordable home recorders in the 1960's that home movies became ubiquitous. The 1980's saw the development of video tape technology that ushered in a new era of home video consumption.  Many of these old formats, whether they be magnetic or digital hold precious memories or important information. The rapid evolution of digital media has been a preservation challenge to the archival field.  

The Baton Rouge Room Archives, located in the Special Collections Department in the Main Library at Goodwood, has the ability to help you view and (depending on format) copy your materials.  Please view the information found here to learn more about the technology available in the Archives.

 

NOTE: Librarians are limited in the amount an types of copying and conversion they can assist you with.  YOU MUST MAKE AN APPOINTMENT TO USE THESE SERVICES.  Please call 225-231-3752.

Links

Microfilm Readers

 

 

Special Collections is equipped with two SL 1000 Konika-Minolta microfilm readers.  Compatible formats are standard 35mm microfilms, 16mm microfilm and microfiche.  Our readers allow patrons to scan film to pdf.  The library has a large collection  of microfilms that cover a variety of historical topics.  You can view the microfilm inventory here.

CD/DVD Copying

 

 

The SATA Blue-ray, DVD, CD duplicator is available for patron use.  YOU MUST BRING YOUR OWN BLANK DISCS.  Please note that we can not duplicate copyrighted materials.  Maximum 10 discs per patron allowed.

Microfilm Scanning

The microfilm scanner has the capability to convert 35mm microfilm into pdf format. A roll of microfilm takes about 15 minutes to convert.

Patron Use Of Scanners Policy

East Baton Rouge Parish Library Patron Use of Scanners Policy

  • You must have a valid East Baton Rouge Parish Library card to use the scanner.
  • You must have a USB drive to use the scanner (available for purchase at circulation)
    If you wish to copy a CD or DVD, you must bring a blank disc with you.      The library will not provide any. 
  • Scanning old and or fragile items runs an inherent risk of damaging the materials.  Patrons will be required to sign a release from damages before items are scanned.
  • Reservations are recommended and can be made by visiting or calling the department at 225-231-3752.
  • LIBRARY STAFF HAVE PRIORITY USE OF THE SCANNER. We will do our best to accommodate you, but you may have to wait until a staff task is complete.
  • There is a two-hour time limit if there is a wait list for the scanner.
  • Reservations cannot be made for after 6pm or on Sundays. There is a two- hour time limit if there is a wait list for the scanner.
  • EBRPL Staff is not allowed to handle patron material without written consent from the patron.
  • Types of materials acceptable for the flatbed scanner (12” x 17”): photographs, slides (35mm), negatives of any size, documents or any other 2D ephemera.
  • Types of materials acceptable for book scanner: books, monographs, magazines, vertical files, scrapbooks, etc.....book scanner cannot be used for scanning photographs.
  • If the librarian determines scanning an item from our collection will damage or be detrimental to its condition, the item will not be scanned.
  • Staff retains the right to prohibit use of scanners if poor handling by the patron could damage the scanner.
  • Patrons are responsible for adhering to copyright law.

Document/Photograph Scanner

The Epson Flat Bed Scanner is a versatile and easy to use tool to scan numerous formats including but not limited to documents, photographs, negatives and 35mm Slides.  The scanner is capable of  color or black and white and up to a 1200 dpi output into either pdf, jpeg or tiff.  Patrons are able to make appointments to use the public flat bed scanner during library hours.  Appointments must be made in advance, are two hours long and require a current East Baton Rouge Parish Library Card.  Call 225-231-3752 to make an appointment.

Magnetic Video Formats

The Baton Rouge Room Archives has the ability to play 8mm, Super 8 and 16mm reel to reel video tape.  Please note, we do not have the ability to digitize these films.

FRED Tower

The FRED digital forensics work station can assist in recovering data on a variety of digital storage mediums.  Please contact us at 225-231-3752  to discuss your recovery needs.