Census RecordsCity DirectoriesMapsMilitary recordsNewspapersObituariesVital Records
Adoption SearchesAfrican American ResearchNative American SearchesCanary IslandersAcadians
This is the "Home" page of the "Genealogy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Genealogy   Tags: family_history, genealogy, obituaries, vital_records  

Genealogy resources.
Last Updated: Jun 13, 2013 URL: http://ebrpl.libguides.com/genealogy Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Book Talk

 

Cover Art
Made in Spain - Jose Andrés; Richard Wolffe
ISBN: 030738263X
Publication Date: 2008-11-04
Download from the 3M cloud!
Enjoy learning about the Basque Countrytraditional foods such as great fish dishes and the haute cuisine of some of the finest restaurants in the world

 

About this guide

family tree

 


These guides are designed to help the beginning family researcher.  Please call 763-2283 or visit with the genealogy staff for help if you have questions about your particular research. 

 

Coming Events

Summer Conference

August 10th, 2013

Bluebonnet Library meeting Room, 10:30 a.m.

Featured speaker

Mr. Goitia-Nicholas from the Louisiana Basque-American and Cultural organization.

 

While many families can trace their origins to France or Spain, many local families can trace their roots to the Basque region.

Barbe, Cachere, Charbonnet, Gayere, leComb, Lemoyne could all have Basque ties.

 

About the collection

The Bluebonnet Genealogy Collection focuses on southern states and includes: 

Microfilm : Revolutionary War pensions, directories, plantation records, church records, census, passenger records

Print: Journals, newsletters, magazines, biographies, histories, genealogies, finding aids, bibliographies

Electronic resources: Ancestry.com Library edition, Heritage Quest, CDs, and Internet resources 

The Baton Rouge genealogical collection is close to other holdings such as the Louisiana State Archives, the Family History Center, LSU's Hill Memorial Library and the Archives at the Clerk of Court. Altogether, we provide a vast array of genealogical treasure just waiting to be discovered.  

Gen News!

Slave and Free People of Color

Baptismal Records in the Archives

Published online and free for public acces. Click here!

New African American Guides and Newspaper databases are available. 

Click "Online Databases" on the library main page.

Click Genealogy and a list of genealogy databases will appear.

      

    Contact Us

    Profile Image
    Genealogy Collection
    Contact Info
    9200 Bluebonnet Blvd
    Baton Rouge, LA 70810
    (225) 763-2283
    Send Email
     

    The Librarian is in...

    That's me, the little baby in the picture. There's a great story about that picture. If you take the Finding Females class one day, you might hear about it! In the meantime, as your genealogy librarian I am here to answer your questions, help you find materials and talk strategy. If you would like to set aside time to meet with me, please call 763-2283 and make an appointment.

    Thank you,

    Cassandra 

     

    Hours

     9 to 9 Monday -Thursday

    9 to 6 Friday/Saturday

    2 to 6 Sunday

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip