InfoGuides: Genealogy: Classes On Demand and Printable Forms

Forms, Charts, and Guides

5-Generation Pedigree Chart (Interactive)
One of the first forms you will to use in genealogy research, the pedigree (ancestral) chart provides an overview of five generations of parent-to-child relationships in an easy-to-follow format
5-Generation Pedigree Chart (Printable)
One of the first forms you will learn to use in genealogy, the pedigree (or ancestral) chart provides an overview of five generations of parent-to-child relationships in an easy-to-follow format.
Census Comparison 1790-1940
A handy chart comparing the information available on each consecutive census.
Family Group Sheet (Courtesy of NARA)
Family Group Sheets are a fantastic resource for keeping all of the important information pertaining to a family unit together. Keep your information neat, organized, and right in front of you.
Family Timeline Worksheet
A simple, printable worksheet that helps you put family events in chronological order (with sources!) to easily track the movements of your ancestors through the years.
Genealogy Course Catalog
Want to know all of our classes at a glance? Find them all in the digital copy of our Course Catalog, available for free any time in the Genealogy Room.
Genealogy Digital Database Guide
A handy guide that is a compilation of numerous fantastic online databases, websites, and resources that will help you in your genealogy journey.
Navigating for Genealogical Records at EBRPL
This is a handy guide on how to find genealogical records using your card, our website, and your wits. Includes step-by-step navigation tips for several of the most well-known databases.
Research Checklist
A sheet to keep you organized and help you make sure that you have checked all repositories for records, take notes, and
Tables of Consanguinity (Cousinhood)
Table showing your relationship to other relatives with the approximate amount of DNA shared

Understanding US Census Records, Pt. II: October 14, 2021

Researching Female Ancestors: September 18, 2021

Introduction to Ancestry.com Library Edition: July 24, 2021

DNA: Testing and Results: May 15, 2021

Maps and Land Records: May 3, 2021

Resources for African-American Genealogy

Our Original Introduction to Genealogy: 2015

Class Guides

All of our annotated class guides are updated every time the class is updated. Each guide includes a PDF of the Powerpoint slides, as well as the notes we use in class. Even so, what you see in class or on the Video on Demand (VOD) may not be exactly what you see here. If you notice one that's very out-of-date, please email us at genealogy@ebrpl.com or call us at (225) 231-3751.

Core: Analyzing Records and Standards of Proof In this class, you will learn how to analyze and interpret information from genealogical records found during the course of your search. You'll learn about the Genealogical Proof Standard (GPS) and how it can help you resolve issues involving conflicting evidence. With the Genealogical Proof Standard, you can build a case for the veracity of your research even though you may lack clear evidence of a person's identity or parentage.
Core: Fold 3 Military Records Fold3 is a genealogy database that specializes in military records. In this class, you will learn how to track your ancestors and find proof of their military service by searching service records, draft cards, pension lists, casualty lists, and other sources. You'll also learn about Fold3's features for keeping track of your finds like Annotations, Bookmarks, and Spotlights.
Core: Introduction to Ancestry.com Library Edition Ancestry.com is arguably the biggest genealogy site around, and with Ancestry Library Edition, you can access nearly everything Ancestry has to offer--free of charge in the library! In this class, you will learn how to navigate the website, explore the types of genealogical records available at Ancestry.com, discover how to get better results using various search options, and consider the ways you can avoid common research pitfalls as you begin your family's genealogy.
Core: Introduction to FamilySearch FamilySearch is a free genealogy website brought to you by FamilySearch International, a nonprofit organization affiliated with the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. In this class, you will learn how to use Familysearch to search or browse U.S. and international records, view user-submitted genealogies, read free genealogy eBooks, use FamilySearch's wiki pages, add and attach records to your family tree, and even order microfilm from the Salt Lake City Library.
Core: Introduction to Genealogy Start the richly rewarding journey of exploring your family's undiscovered heritage by attending Introduction to Genealogy. This class explains how to organize and conduct genealogical research, intorduces the types of records that are used to track a family's history, explores the computer databases the library offers to assist your research, and introduces the types of resources the Genealogy Department has in its collection to help you fill in the gaps in your family tree.
Core: Newsbank Historical Newspaper Archive This database is home to millions of pages of full scans of Baton Rouge and New Orleans newspapers dating from 1837 to 2013. it includes issues of The Times-Picayune, The Advocate, the News-Advocate, etc. This class will teach you how to search and sort this large amount of information and uncover stories about the people, places, and things in your ancestors' communities.
Core: Using Wills and Probate Records Learn how to use wills and probate records to trace your family tree and discover details of your ancestors' lives. In this class, we'll cover the various types of probate records, where to find them, and what they contain. Using these records, you can learn how people were related, what kind of land and property they owned, nd even find out with whom they might have been feuding.
Elective - Leaving a Legacy - Writing Your Life Story
Elective: DNA: Testing and Results There are many different genealogy DNA tests on the market today, each with a different set of information, results, and terminology. These tests have their own unique strengths and weaknesses, and each one will help to answer some questions about where you came from. This class will cover the differences in the available tests, tell you the basics of how to read your results, and help you decide which one is right for you.
Elective: Immigration and Naturalization Records Whether your ancestor was a Pilgrim or an Italian arriving at Ellis Island in the early 20th century, you can probably find an immigrant in your family tree. With Immigration and Naturalization Records in Depth, you’ll learn how to uncover your immigrant roots with naturalization and immigration records--from Declarations of Intent and Oaths of Allegiance to Passport Applications. You’ll also discover resources for finding passenger lists and the ships your ancestors sailed on to America.
Elective: Introduction to Genealogy Software and Organization Genealogy software can help you become a more efficient researcher by conveniently displaying information and aiding with organization of sources. In this class, you’ll learn how to add people to your family tree, add facts, cite sources, and attach pictures or other digital documents. You’ll also learn how to keep your paper sources organized in binders and digitally on your computer.
Elective: Louisiana Resources for Genealogy Many Louisianans living today have ancestors who were here over three hundred years ago. Many more have come to settle here since that time. These people have produced an abundance of records of their lives and their relationships. Learn what resources the library has on Louisiana history, from the French and Spanish eras to the modern day, and how you can use them to research your family’s past. We will look at early records, plantation records, and contemporary sources of information.
Elective: Researching Female Ancestors This class will explore some common problems that arise when researching female ancestors. We will discuss research techniques, explore records created by women, and highlight resources to guide you in your genealogy research.
Elective: Resources for African-American Genealogy Due to the history of slavery, prejudice and discrimination against African Americans in our country, African Americans were routinely excluded from many records that could have documented details of their daily lives. In this class, you will learn about search techniques and special records collections that will help you find your ancestors.
Elective: Tracing Your English Ancestors English genealogy is not easy, even without a language barrier. This in-depth class looks at the intricate world of parish registrars, marriage bonds and banns, and historical genealogies. Learn how to navigate the General Registrar’s Office, find immigration and emigration records, and utilize the library’s resources to help cross the oceans and trace your English ancestry.
Elective: Tracing Your Italian Ancestors Many Louisianans today are descendants of immigrants who arrived in the United States from Sicily. What occurred to make these families want to leave their homeland for a new start in a brand new country? In this class, we will discuss events occurring in Sicily at the time, plus how to locate birth, marriage, and death records of your Sicilian ancestors.
Elective: Understanding US Census Non-Population Schedules If you’ve ever wondered what your great-great grandfather’s farm looked like or if you might be able to find out what happened to that ancestor who died in 1859, this is the class for you! Genealogists are all familiar with the US Population Census conducted every ten years. The census counts far more than just people, and these figures are compiled on non-population schedules. In this class, we will cover state censuses, territory censuses, mortality schedules, and agricultural and farm schedules, among others. We will also discuss how this can help you with your genealogy research.
Elective: Understanding US Census Records Pt. 1 (1790-1840) Census records are one of the cornerstones of genealogical research. Before 1850, however, they contain little information and can be difficult to utilize for those who may be unfamiliar with the process. This class will teach you how to read, understand, and extract information from these confusing records, starting with the very first US census of 1790.
Elective: Understanding US Census Records Pt. 2 (1850-1940) Census records are one of the cornerstones of genealogical research. Starting in the year 1850, they provided valuable information on every free person in the United States, including names, ages, education, occupations, and more. In this class, we will learn how to use these records in conjunction with others to help you build a timeline of your family history and trace their lives from one generation to the next. This class will cover the censuses from 1850 through 1940.
HeritageQuest and Other Online Resources Review of the HertiageQuest database along with other online genealogical resources offered through the library.
Introduction to Genealogy May 7, 2024
Introduction to Genealogy version Nov 2023
Introduction to HeritageQuest and Other Online Resources 2024
Introduction to Ancestry Library Edition 9/24
Understanding the U.S. Census (10/2024)
Researching Female Ancestors

Genealogy: Classes On Demand and Printable Forms

Welcome!