InfoGuides: Genealogy: Home

The Special Collections Team!

We are located in the Special Collections Department on the second floor of the Main Library at Goodwood.

Hours

9 am to 8:45 pm Monday -Thursday

9 am to 5:45 pm Friday - Saturday

2pm to 8:45 pm Sunday

7711 Goodwood Blvd.

Baton Rouge, LA 70806

(225) 231-3751

Featured database

The Advocate Obituary Project indexes obituaries appearing in the State Times or Morning Advocate. Years covered to date: 1952-91. To use these files: Save the file(s) to the Computer's Desktop and then Open them for optimal viewing.

Historical Documents in the Baton Rouge Room Archive

Birth Registry: Central, Louisiana. Dr. H.K Viers: April, 1914-March, 1916
A registry recording births in Central, Louisiana from April, 1914-March, 1916.
1875 East Baton Rouge Parish Registrar of Voters
Transcription of hand written voter registration book for East Baton Rouge Parish, 1875.
Street Name Change Index
Most data taken from the 1948 Street Map of Baton Rouge

Hidden No More: A Symposium on Enslavement and Genealogy

Louisiana Colonial Documents Project

Special Collections Policies

Special Collections Policies

About the Collection

The East Baton Rouge Parish Library Genealogy Collection focuses on southern states and includes:

Microfilm: Slave papers, legal records, city directories, plantation records, church records, & passenger records.

Microfilm Inventory

Print Resources: Books, newsletters, magazines, local histories, family genealogies, & vertical files.

Electronic Resources: Ancestry.com Library edition, HeritageQuest, Fold3, & Internet resources.

The East Baton Rouge Parish Library Genealogy Collection is close to other holdings such as the Louisiana State Archives, the Family History Center, LSU's Hill Memorial Library and the Archives at the Clerk of Court. Altogether, we provide a vast array of genealogical treasure just waiting to be discovered.