In addition to our collection, there are several nearby institutions that house genealogy records and resources.
The Louisiana State Archives holds records from Louisiana state government departments, commissions and offices covering the colonial period to the present. Historical records from the three branches of state government document the evolution of state public policy and its implementation, the rights and claims of citizens, and the history of Louisiana and its people. There are also files from many non-governmental institutions, individuals, organizations and churches, as well as collections of tax lists and other official records from municipal governments.
Louisiana State Archives Research Library
The State Archives also houses various records on microfilm from many of the state's parishes. View the list here: Parish Records on Microfilm at the State Archives
The State Archives is located at 3851 Essen Lane.
Hill Memorial Library is home to the Special Collections department of LSU Libraries. It houses an invaluable collection of books, manuscripts, and other items pertaining to Louisiana and the Lower Mississippi valley. They have a large collection of Louisiana newspapers on microfilm, some of which are also available on the Library of Congress Chronicling America database. Hill Memorial Library is located near the LSU Quadrangle, next to Allen Hall.
The EBR Clerk of Court holds a variety of records that are invaluable for genealogical research. Among these are civil, criminal, and probate records that date back to 1811, and marriage licenses from 1840 to present-day. The Archives Department is located at 444 St. Louis Street under the West River Center Parking Garage.
The EBRPL Genealogy Department holds copies of the Diocese of Baton Rouge Catholic Church Records, which span the years 1707 - 1900. These volumes contain records of baptisms, marriages, and burials during that time. Visit the Diocese Archives website for additional information on utilizing the Archives for research.
Catholic Diocese of Baton Rouge Archives
The Catholic Diocese of Baton Rouge is located at 1800 South Acadian Thruway.
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints has Family History Centers throughout the world, with a goal of providing resources to assist in genealogical research. The centers are free to use and open to the public. Click the link below for information on the Family History Centers located in Louisiana.
Louisiana Family History Centers
The Baton Rouge Family History Center is located at 10335 Highland Road.